Skip to content

This January

January 14, 2011
by

In this cold  (so cold) dark, snowy, gray and cheerless January, I’m thinking rather than doing.

 

I’m thinking about the colors pale aqua, white, pale pink and crimson.

 

Huskies. I’m not an animal person, and definitely not a dog person, but if I was, I would run out right now and procure one. Beautiful, haunting faces.

The Siberian Husky

 

 

Lemons. Meyer Lemons.

 

Do I want to live here anymore? In this state? In this country?

 

Will. Learn. To. Knit. If. It. KILLS. ME.

 

Can one kidnap one’s own husband? Is this allowed? What are the repercussions?

 

Seed catalog time. After last year’s dismal failure due to being unable to keep a squirmy one year old from running the entire 15 feet from our front door to the street – I’m a little unsure about my ability to be outside and absorbed with dirt and watch her at the same time.

 

How does one make math hilarious? And fun? I sure as hell don’t know.

 

Do not give your toddler a 5 lb. jar of river stones under the guise of Montessori teaching/play/blahblahblah. Every time you think you’ve put them all back, the jar will be just a little less full than it was the last time, but you mysteriously won’t be able to find any more pebbles.

 

 

What do you do when your sister moves abroad? Probably permanently. With your fat little nephew who might starve for want of auntie kisses?

 

My computer sounds like a cow in labor. Pretty sure that’s not normal.

 

Dishwasher broke. Feels like it took forever to wash dishes and yet somehow I managed to clean up for the night way before I usually do. Maybe washing dishes by hand causes a time warp.

 

Really, really want to build this. And then go somewhere. Anywhere as long as it isn’t here.

http://portlandalternativedwellings.com/homes/

 

Worried that I won’t get enough chubby toe gazing in before my baby’s  feet turn into my husband’s. Or mine.  She’s two in a half, how much more time do I have?

 

Was asked to be at a friend’s birth. Was excited. NOW AM PANICKING. She thinks I know something about having babies?

 

Guffawing word: HUMANURE!

 

And lastly, trying to be good. Do good. See good.

 

Deep into January and perhaps suffering from Seasonal Affective Disorder, what are you thinking of?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 5:14 pm

    I always feel like January is a mixed up month. Enjoyed my little insight into yours 🙂

    (Loved the bit about chubby toe gazing! )

    • Allumer permalink
      January 14, 2011 6:12 pm

      Baby toes! So sweet!

  2. Kaimalino permalink
    January 14, 2011 5:33 pm

    Ooooh, loveliness!
    Probably not your anticipated response nor reflective of your frame of mind but I AM both a person who likes dogs (“dog person” sounds mutant, something like a werewolf) and an earthy-birthy type so your musings sound like fantastic luckiness to me.
    Attending a birth is such an honor! Have you read “Birthing from Within”? Or any of Ina May Gaskin’s books? I love her. Birth is so athletic and so spiritual and so amazing. What a terrific thing to be able to look forward to. Get all your panicking out now so you don’t bring any of it to the birth. 😉 Is the mom planning to be at home or somewhere else? I loved that my grandma was in the kitchen helping Boy #1 and Boy#2 make a “Birth Day Cake” while I pushed out Boy #3 upstairs. One of my best days, ever.
    Bummer about not being able to dispense auntie-kisses, though. Quick, double-up on the mama-kisses so you don’t go into withdrawals.
    My second boy is now five (!) and his feet have turned into actual feet. Still plenty cute and non-hairy, but not the fat little dinner rolls my 2-and-a-half-year-old stands on. I think you’ve got about another year, maybe 18 months. Super impressed you are mindful enough to notice. . . it took the third little boy for me to realize I needed to actively savor their smallness because (cliche alert) it disappears so fast.
    Meyer lemons. . . Mmmmm.
    Math. . . . ewww.
    Seasonal Affective Disorder around here is all related to post-holidays recovery and struggling to get out of bed in the morning to hit the gym. I hate that the same time of day can feel so different at different times of the year. 5 a.m. is not so awful in the summer, but right now. . . I am astounded by how many excuses my mind can create to stay reclined and covered with blankets, even when I’m not fully awake. It’s just way easier to sit on the sofa and eat chocolate popcorn while flipping through the New Year’s Inspiration issue of Runner’s World than it is to actually lace up and go for a run. I wish being ironic was good for my heart.

    “Humanure” is funny. Was reading about how to keep pet hermit crabs the other night with my boys and we learned the word “crabitat.”

    • Allumer permalink
      January 14, 2011 6:02 pm

      I do think huskies are one of the most beautiful animals there are – I mean look at that face! Wild! Beautiful! Like a supermodel without the bitchitude!

      Kai, I loved Birthing from Within and luckily my friend is reading it now. It helped me so much with my two labors and I hope it will be of use to my friend. She’s having her second baby at the same birth center I had my second with, because her first (hospital) birth was less than desirable. She wants me there because I’ve had both mine un-medicated and she needs that kind of support. Praying I’m helpful.

      Yeah, my poor nephew, how is he going to live without me? How will I live without his little yummy Berber-y goodness? Me so sad. Of course, he’s going to be a lot closer to his dad’s family, so I’m happy for them – kind of. Well. Not really. I still want him on this side of the Atlantic.

      I never noticed the kids’ feet until this year when number 1 (who is 8 1/2) started wearing women’s shoes one size down from me!!! That’s when I started holding onto the toddler’s squishy feet for dear life.

      Wait, is my number 1 and 2 the same ages as your number 1 and 3? Mine are July and September babies.

      Winter never bothered me until I had children. It’s either that or the fact that the house we live in is like a freaking cave light -wise, but since those two things sort of happened at the same time I don’t know which one triggered my SAD.

      And I AM LUCKY! Yay! Thanks for helping me see that! And this is what internet buddies are for!

  3. Kaimalino permalink
    January 14, 2011 8:12 pm

    So funny the husky is channeling supermodel to you. They and malamutes are notoriously hard to train. I think it’s because they are programmed to run in packs (as sled dogs) and the whole “sit-stay-speak” thing is beneath them. That’s for retrievers, and other suckers bred to fetch.
    If you haven’t read Ina May’s stuff (esp. “Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth,” I highly, highly recommend it. It’s loaded with very positive birth stories and affirmations that were very helpful for me. I also suggest the Bradley Method book by Marjie Hathaway. . . the title is slipping my mind. . . . Oh yes, “Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way.” Dated photos, but invaluable info about emotional signposts and coping techniques that are not so far-out or complicated or unnatural as to become completely useless when you need to get down to business. Good, good stuff.
    The Second Boy came at a birth center. It was great. In that case, Boy #1 was in the next room watching “Pinocchio” while I pushed out his brother. Then he came in and helped the midwife do the newborn assessments and ate postpartum animal crackers with me. There was so much laughing. I sincerely wish your friend a similar experience. Families deserve to remember birth-days fondly.
    My first has an end-of-May birthday, and my third has a middle-of-August birthday, so we were in bloom together. We could’ve commiserated and rejoiced together. Oh wait, we are.

  4. January 15, 2011 1:51 am

    I have no words to describe this January in my life… But I’m glad you do. Thanks for the giggles. :-}

Leave a Reply

