Skip to content

Whatchya Reading?

November 26, 2010

I’m in the middle of A Year in the Maine Woods by Bernd Heinrich, which I am totally absolutely loving. I love being in nature but I’m usually bored silly by nature narratives, but this one is pulling me right in.

I’m also reading Teach Your Own by John Holt, which is something I really need these days. The only school-age homeschoolers I know are actually schooling their kids at home, which is different from what we’re doing. We’re more of life-learners or unschoolers, if we need a label. So this book is a nice and supportive companion for me so I can read stories from all sorts of families about how their young people have learned without conventional methods of schooling.

I just borrowed One-Handed Basket Weaving: Rumi Poems on the Theme of Work, translated by Coleman Barks. Looking forward to sneaking away with this.

What’s on your reading list?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 2:06 pm

    I will never believe that none of the Rock Pool writers or readers are reading SOMETHING (or ten somethings) on any given day. Nevah!

  2. November 27, 2010 2:07 pm

    Crumb, I can never remember which identity I’m signed in with.

  3. November 28, 2010 2:09 am

    i just finished sky coyote by kage baker, and i’m partway through brother i’m dying by edwidge danticat and sex work: writings by women in the sex industry (i can’t recall the editor’s name offhand). i’m planning to finish brother i’m dying this weekend and begin women healing earth (an anthology, can’t recall the editor’s name) and mendoza in hollywood by kage baker (the next in the company series after sky coyote).

    yeah, i need a planner just to keep up with my reading habits! 😀

  4. November 28, 2010 7:46 pm

    I am busy packing my life, I mean, my books into boxes so I almost don’t have any to hand (ohhhh that is such a lie, I kept at least ten books in reserve, not to mention books belonging to OTHER PEOPLE I still have).

    okay, before Ramadan, I was partway through The Day Watch, by Sergei Lukyanenko, but…I don’t know. I don’t really feel like finishing it. Night Watch was good, but this one makes me uncomfortable.

    I am technically reading Unseen Academicals by Terry Pratchett, except I keep putting it down and reading other books. I don’t feel driven to finish it. The other night, I sat up until 4.30 in the morning re-reading Magic Flutes by Eva Ibbotson (<3), and I've read a couple of pages of a book I received for review (you'll hear about that eventually, I hope I don't hate it) ohhh and I also just recently read The Cardturner by Louis Sachar which was veggy good. Louis Sachar writes books which when you've read them, you sit staring at the back cover thinking, 'how does he do that? HOW??'

    Mainly, I've been at work, which means I'm constantly dipping in and out of hundreds of books and so have no idea what exactly I'm reading, or listening to, or watching. Or singing.

    In other news, I did sit and watch the whole first season of Lark Rise to Candleford, which was definitely good. And I've discovered the Murdoch Mysteries, so I foresee lots of future diversion.

    PS I keep a record of what I've been reading in 2010 on my Goodreads page.

  5. November 28, 2010 8:54 pm

    ah! i knew you people must be reading! 🙂

  6. November 29, 2010 1:48 pm

    i’m on goodreads as well maryam – feel free to add me! i’ve gotten better at keeping up with it.
    http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1566710

  7. December 14, 2010 2:43 am

    Hey, that’s pretty neat! I didn’t know about goodreads. Off to check it out some more :}

Leave a Reply

