Skip to content

A Homebody’s List

October 29, 2010

Well, it’s not the tenth day of the tenth month of the tenth year of this millennium anymore, but it is still the tenth month of the tenth year… so… I’m doing this top ten list and nobody can stop me. I happened to have been in the ER on the tenth day so I have a good excuse: I was baffling the residents, doctors, nurses and ultrasound technicians because I am A HUMAN ENIGMA. After maybe 6 hours they thought, “Hmm, appendix?” Later there was a lot of, “Where’s the rest of her appendix? It’s there on the screen—oh pooh, it’s plumb disappeared at the bottom! Did it explode? Is it still there? Let’s inject her with radioactive juice and find out!” And they did find out. Helpful folks. I am so SO glad they are extremely good at their jobs. I’m also very happy to be HOME.

Top Ten Reasons I Am Glad to Be Home

1. No more tubes sticking into me.

2. The sunshine slants so beautifully through the front window. When I came home it was like I’d been away for years, not just 2 weeks.

3. There are children here and they run wild and tell me 54,329 times a day how glad they are that I’m back home.

4. The TV remote works and is not made of stupid (as in it goes forward AND backward through the channels. Not that we have channels, just Netflix.).

5. Nobody wakes me up at midnight to stab my belly with needles full of life-saving stuff. I get woken up by kid cuddles, which is much, much better.

6. Food. They let me eat here, did you know? Because at the hospital I didn’t eat for a week. That kind of thing makes a person SLIGHTLY DIZZY.

7. I’m surrounded by projects that involve yarn, cloth, thread, wool fleece, and buttons. Heaven.

8. The bed here doesn’t hurt.

9. I get to see my favorite man daily (and pssst, he’s doing all the housework!).

10. There is so much love here–the best of life-saving medicine.

One extra, because it’s nearly the eleventh month:

11. I am alive and healing well, with new perspectives on old (but beautiful) intentions, and a heavy dose of long-lasting gratitude for the simple, lovely things in this life.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Allumer permalink
    October 31, 2010 2:36 pm

    Hmmm. Sitting in bed, with Netflix, surrounding by crafting materials while your favourite man does all the housework? This is not sounding too bad here, Maryam. All I can say is you have an awesome advantage for the rest of your life; your man is going to know EXACTLY what you do at home when he’s not there. Now he knows that you are not sitting on couch, munching on cotton candy and letting the kids run through the neighbor’s yard naked.

    Glad you’re feeling better!

  2. November 1, 2010 4:44 pm

    Thats such a wonderful top ten list…! Hope you get well soon…Incognito x

  3. November 2, 2010 11:58 am

    I loved this, too! Although I feel perhaps I shouldn’t have laughed quite as much but HEY WOMAN that is your fault for making the painful COMICAL.

    Other than that, a Facebook-style thumbs-uppy ‘like’. Like like like.

Leave a Reply

