Skip to content

Family Adventuring—all genders, all ages, all together.

September 30, 2010
by

I love this post so so SO much I must share it: Being Intentional About Activity. Inspired by that nature-lovin’ guy, Damien, and his partner Renee on her blog FIMBY, I’ve embarked on something I’ve wanted to do for a long time: weekly adventuring in nature. With a honey who sometimes works weekends and is sometimes too tired from the hard-labor of his job to be marched out into the wilderness (of suburban Philly…), I’ve not been able to find a way to do this. But then… I just did it. i decided we’d go whether or not I had my other half, and surprisingly he’s been home on weekends. Sometimes some of us cry and groan that we don’t wanna to go, generally because of the car drive that comes first, but then I get thanked for making them go, which makes it all worth it.

What ways do you find to spend good times all together?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Edzell permalink
    October 2, 2010 9:28 pm

    Maryam,

    I’m so glad to hear about you (and this Damien guy) fighting against the tide of modern American family life. I don’t have a family yet, but hope to someday, and one of my biggest fears is that we will inevitably become what Damien described as “five people in five directions seven days a week in multiple vehicles.”

    Having spent the past two years working as a nanny and high school science teacher in Seattle, I have had a front row seat at the “Crazy-Family-Life-Of-Urban-Americans Show.” And I’ve decided I want no part in it. In fact, I’ve had a lot of thoughts related to this idea lately. I might just have to write a post on it.

  2. October 3, 2010 1:10 pm

    edzell, i would love to read your post about this. it’s something i felt in my being long before i put any words to it, and the words have only just come around recently, which is why my post was short and not elaborating on damien’s much. the great thing is that on our hikes we see a lot of families with kids out together.

Leave a Reply

