Skip to content

Bake.

September 26, 2010

In my hectic schedule (and yes, I know I’m supposed to be immersed with revision, exams, audits and work and that I wouldn’t resurface for another couple of weeks!), I love to bake.

Not that I’m particularly good at it, but I love the science of it: ingredients in a particular order. It’s all about organisation and time-keeping, and planning ahead. I’m in my own bubble from the minute I take out the butter from the fridge and pre-heat my oven.

I haven’t yet mastered the art of decorating my cakes nicely. But, I’m going to be trying that. However, I have found that my family aren’t enthusiastic cake eaters (apart from my diabetic dad!). So, I am on the lookout for testers who live near me. not sure my cakes could withstand a trip to the US in the post. Anyone want to sample my cakes and give feedback?

I have been transported into a bubble of delight watching this series on BBC iplayer: The Great British Bake-off (only viewable in the UK). It’s a competition, starting off with 10 contestants from different backgrounds, all passionate about baking. The theme changes every week and starts off with cakes, then biscuits, bread, puddings, pastry, and ending spectacularly with ‘Tea Party’. It’s nice to see ordinary people taking their passion to the limit.

Also discovered Rachel Allen’s series: Bake (again, only viewable in the UK), and I’ve got her recipe book of the same name, but it’s nice to see videos of how it’s done and also the banter between her and her students. She gives out lots of helpful tips and it’s only 30 minutes long.

Ok, back to the batcave for more revision…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Allumer permalink
    September 27, 2010 5:12 pm

    I especially love baking as it turns colder. My baking usually tastes good but I cannot for the life of me get it to look decent. It typically looks like a slumped over mass of bready stuff. I prefer pastries and pies to cake, but my family LOVES cake. Cake makes my stomach hurt!

  2. September 27, 2010 9:39 pm

    i just made a pumpkin pie and pumpkin custard (because one of my kids doesn’t like crust) and thought of this post. i made it from REAL PUMPKINs. i’m so proud! i didn’t really know that pumpkin tastes like squash (um, is a squash) until i was grown. it doesn’t grow in a can, did you know?
    i’d offer happily to taste your cakes! but i have to eat gluten-free foods and THAT is a whole nother world of baking.

  3. September 30, 2010 6:41 pm

    Oh! I didn’t know Maryam that you are coeliac. What changes do you make in your daily life in regards to eating out and entertaining?

    and Allumer< how can you say cake makes your stomach hurt! I'll happily digest all of them, but I'm sure that will show!

Leave a Reply

