Skip to content

How to Be Alone

September 23, 2010

This is so beautiful to me, especially after having periods in my life when being alone was inevitable agony. Thought I’d share it here:

Most of my aloneness now is not true aloneness—since I’m alone but surrounded by people, attempting to find a quiet solitude. That’s kind of how it is living in the suburbs and being a full-time mom, and that’s okay.

Where do you find enjoyment or comfort in being alone?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Edzell permalink
    September 23, 2010 8:01 pm

    That is SO beautiful Maryam! Where did you find it?

    It is especially therapeutic to me where I am in my life right now – single, nearing age 29, unemployed, unsure of where I am headed… There has been a lot of “alone time” for me lately, and, I must say, I have not embraced it. I am going to try to do that today.

  2. September 23, 2010 9:08 pm

    i’m so glad you love it, truly. i must have found it here: Camp Creek Blog, which is a really beautiful blog with so so so many life-affirming points about living and learning.

  3. September 24, 2010 11:56 pm

    This was beautiful, her voice, the music – relaxing and therapeutic. Thanks for sharing! There are certain things I do alone very well. Going for runs, writing, taking a bath, reading – these are all better alone. I started to go to a movie alone last week, but got sick. I think I have some work to do on being with myself, but working full time and raingin a family means there are few opportunities. Maybe I just need to look in unexpected places for alone time…

  4. September 25, 2010 12:58 am

    paige, i’m glad you like it! her voice IS so lovely and therapeutic.
    i just got distracted reading your great blog, then decided i should come back here to reply to you before i forget! my alone time is often a whirlwind like this, because there is so little time. i like how you said you need to look in unexpected places. i think that’s right on.

  5. Rrooo permalink
    September 25, 2010 10:52 am

    This is absolutely lovely… Thank you Maryam! Alone is a word and concept with many negative connotations and I am so happy this poetic song encourages a heart and mind approach speaking to its restorative and empowering qualities… Wishing all of you a beautiful moment of solitude!

  6. Marguerite permalink
    March 14, 2012 3:18 am

    Wow, WELL SAID!!! I cannot say enough about how well written!

    Marguerite

    • Marguerite permalink
      March 14, 2012 3:19 am

      Or, should I say, could not say enough…. Great Work!!!

Leave a Reply

