Skip to content

Life. In Song.

September 21, 2010
by

https://i1.wp.com/www.phonographia.com/Phonopc_pc1/images/French%20hand%20tinted%20pc_jpg.jpg

Seems like folks turn into things

That they’d never want
The only thing to live for
Is today
I’m gonna put a hole in my TV set
I don’t wanna grow up
Open up the medicine chest
And I don’t wanna grow up
I don’t wanna have to shout it out
I don’t want my hair to fall out
I don’t wanna be filled with doubt
I don’t wanna be a good boy scout
I don’t wanna have to learn to count
I don’t wanna have the biggest amount
I don’t wanna grow up

Tom Waits – I Don’t Wanna Grow Up

_____________________________

What The Hell Am I?

Alice in Chains – Sickman

______________________________

Don’t believe in fear
Don’t believe in faith
Don’t believe in anything
That you can’t break

You stupid girl

Garbage – Stupid Girl

______________________________

I made a lot of mistakes
in my mind, in my mind

you came to take us
all things go, all things go
to recreate us
all things grow, all things grow

Sufjan Stevens – Chicago

______________________________

File:The Scream.jpg

I can’t make myself heard no matter how hard I scream

Portishead  – Biscuit

______________________________

Somewhere sunshine burns
A dark but common horse
When he fell by the wayside
No one seemed to notice him
‘Cause you’re no good to us
Lost all your youth
And all of your usefulness
And you know that
No good to us
Lost all that you could

My Brightest Diamond – Workhorse

______________________________

Well I don’t dare close my eyes and I don’t dare wink
Maybe in the next life I’ll be able to hear myself think
Feel like talking to somebody but I just don’t know who

Bob Dylan – Million Miles

_____________________________

Orphans [Vinyl]

I’m gonna get myself
Unfurled from this mortal coiled up world
Because Jesus gonna be here
Be here soon

Tom Waits – Jesus Gonna Be Here Soon

______________________________

So give it up and throw
Me down a couple of quid
Everybody wants to see
The Eyeball kid

Eyeball kid
Eyeball kid

Tom Waits – Eyeball Kid

_____________________________

Take this soul
Stranded in some skin and bones
Take this soul
And make it sing

Yahweh, Yahweh
Always pain before a child is born
Yahweh, Yahweh
Still I’m waiting for the dawn

U2 – Yahweh

____________________________________


As you might suspect, this could have gone on for another 30 pages. Also, I’m quite obviously as old as the hills. And I don’t really listen to music anymore unless you count Veggie Tales. No matter.  Please add your own “soundtrack” in the comments; it’s always amazing/fascinating what sticks out to people.

Picture credits in order:

http://www.phonographia.com

wikipedia.org

amazon.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rrooo permalink
    September 22, 2010 6:47 pm

    I love this! Great idea Allumer!! : )

    Night has always pushed up day
    You must know life to see decay
    But I won’t rot, I won’t rot
    Not this mind and not this heart,
    I won’t rot.

    And I took you by the hand
    And we stood tall,
    And remembered our own land,
    What we lived for.

    And there will come a time, you’ll see, with no more tears.
    And love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fears.
    Get over your hill and see what you find there,
    With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair…
    -Mumford and Sons “After the Storm” (a gorgeous song…)
    ____________________________________________________

    Been beat up and battered around
    Been sent up and I’ve been shut down
    You’re the best thing that I’ve ever found
    Handle me with care…
    -Traveling Wilburys “Handle Me With Care”
    ____________________________________________________

    The book of love is long and boring
    And written very long ago
    It’s full of flowers and heart-shapes boxes
    And things we’re all too young to know…
    -Peter Gabriel “The Book of Love”
    ___________________________________________________

    So, so you think you can tell
    Heaven from Hell,
    Blue skys from pain.
    Can you tell a green field
    From a cold steel rail?
    A smile from a veil?
    Do you think you can tell?

    And did they get you to trade
    Your heroes for ghosts?
    Hot ashes for trees?
    Hot air for a cool breeze?
    Cold comfort for change?
    And did you exchange
    A walk on part in the war
    For a lead role in a cage?

    How I wish, how I wish you were here.
    We’re just two lost souls
    Swimming in a fish bowl,
    Year after year,
    Running over the same old ground.
    What have we found?
    The same old fears.
    Wish you were here.
    -Pink Floyd “Wish You Were Here”

  2. September 22, 2010 7:45 pm

    of course all songs i ever loved have left my brain, but when i think of them i can post back! awesome selection, by the way.
    and hey, we are not old. we just don’t listen to brittany spears.

  3. Allumer permalink
    September 22, 2010 11:53 pm

    Rrooo – you’ve sent me down another road with the Peter Gabriel verse. “Digging in the dirt – to find the places I got hurt!” and I so remember yelling, “This time you’ve gone too far!”

    Maryam – Who is Brittany Spears? As you can see I only listen to cool old guys who are sepia coloured (I might be just a tad in love with Tom Waits). And girl, if you think these songs just popped into my head through all the chattering of children, you are so wrong. I had to sit down with my neglected cds and then find the lyrics. I’m too tired to remember all the things that have “left my brain.” And yeah, we aren’t old. I think we are just coming into our own.

  4. September 23, 2010 6:40 pm

    just coming into our own is a perfect description! thing is, it just might keep happening, this process, until we die. at least, speaking for myself, that’s how i’m feeling: the process of life doesn’t have a final chapter. the learning doesn’t stop… *even if it kills me* …which it won’t, but i might feel like it will.

Leave a Reply

