Skip to content

What’s Wrong With This Bathroom Door?

September 2, 2010

Dear Rock Pool readers, you will win FIFTEEN BARS of the World’s Best Fictitious Chocolate if you can figure out what sign on this boy’s bathroom door pisses Maryam off to no end is out of place. Good luck!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 7:13 pm

    Boys’ Restroom….because it is missing an apostrophe?

  2. September 2, 2010 7:21 pm

    hehehe, nope. i have bad grammar skills so i don’t often notice them.

  3. September 2, 2010 7:42 pm

    tell meeee. tell me noooow. Or I might have to sacrifice myself to a chocolate biscuit. 😛

  4. September 2, 2010 7:57 pm

    lol NO! i will lose most of what’s left of my faith in westernized humans if someone does not guess right. seriously.

  5. Kaimalino permalink
    September 2, 2010 8:08 pm

    Hmmmm. . . . Is it because “dog” is the word for a male canine, but is used as a gender-neutral term for all canines, whereas the other words are used solely to refer to males of the species?
    I have the old Sesame Street song, “One of These Things is Not Like the Others” playing in my head. Tell me!

    • Allumer permalink
      September 2, 2010 8:11 pm

      What she said! I mean, that would have been my guess, though not so succinctly put.

    • Mahfooz permalink
      September 2, 2010 9:04 pm

      I knew that, shame I didn’t read the post earlier or would’ve won that fake chocolate 😦

  6. ZPurpleify permalink
    September 2, 2010 8:34 pm

    It’s all male, very direct, (Not that we females would ever want to enter the boys area – yuk!) gives the impression it’s just for boys/men?

  7. September 2, 2010 8:40 pm

    I was thinking ‘dog’ too, and it cracked me up to imagine what was on the girls’ loos if they were opposites XD I mean, ‘hen’ and ‘female’ are fairly inoffensive, and ‘doe’ is positively complimentary….but I wouldn’t venture to gender-reverse ‘dog’ for that.

    But it would be funny. I would so go to that bathroom.

    • Allumer permalink
      September 2, 2010 8:42 pm

      Oh man, I’d so rather be called a b***h than a hen. I know “hen” is used in Britain in a cutesy way, but ugh,no. Just no.

      • September 2, 2010 8:47 pm

        I kind of enjoy being called a female dog. It makes me feel deliciously justified in my existence. Hahahahahaha/

        What? It’s iftar time. I’m eating and typing with a finger and trying to correct my typos.

  8. September 2, 2010 8:40 pm

    hell yeah. dog is, technically, the term for a male dog, but it’s used simply as a gender neutral animal name. and more importantly, it’s just as often used to describe men. and i have a son. and i believe gender is taught. and i’m going to stop now before i begin ranting about sexism being a two-way street and men’s oppression and the number of times people say sexist crap to my son about men being stupid or simple or emotionless and i want to throttle them. okay, stopping now.

    i mentioned this, with a smile and a light tone, to the state park educators working in the nature center where this signage was. i pointed out that it’s a tad sexist, and the response was “yeah, it’s all women who work here.” and she then said the term for the female of that species is much more offensive. i said, “yeah, i didn’t expect to see that on the girls’ room door,” because people notice when there’s sexism against women but don’t so much about men which is terrible because it goes under everyone’s radar and into our boys from birth. i’m not kidding. i never noticed until my son was born, so i understand how people don’t see it. but we all have men and boys in our lives. it’s worth paying attention to this stuff.

    • September 2, 2010 8:52 pm

      I think we – by which I mean ‘I’ – were programmed from birth to notice sexism of any kind and it is only in recent years I’ve tired of the PC madness.

      Somewhat unrelatedly, I was reading the APA manual for citations, and they say you should keep your language gender neutral by saying ‘s/he’ instead of the male pronoun. And that actually does my head in, not only because it’s a flagrant politicisation of the English language – ‘he’ in those contexts never means ‘exclusively male’; it’s a gender-inclusive term when it’s used as a general pronoun.

      And let’s not even begin with God being male. I have a whole post saved up about my chagrin about that.

      (haha I used the word chagrin! Take note, Robert Jordan!)

      • September 2, 2010 8:55 pm

        i love you. again.

        my daughter notices that i am the only person in her world who refers to God as She, which i do ONLY to counter everyone else saying He. it allows us to talk about how God ain’t either one. but she tells me i should call God It. that just feels icky, but maybe more true in the end.

      • September 2, 2010 9:15 pm

        Children speak from a core of truth that Allah puts in them, that is why they are so wise.

        My beef with this is that God must by definition transcend gender – what is a god who is like a human being? God is neither ‘he’ nor ‘she’ nor the even less-‘izzah ‘it’, which I’ve sometimes heard. People refer to animals as ‘it’, that’s not a divine pronoun. The thing is, we don’t have a god-specific pronoun, that altogether encompasses just how far above His creation He is. We capitalise it to show the difference, but we only use ‘He’ out of a deficiency in our language, not because we believe God is a being of gender.

        Islamically, anyway – concepts of God of course differ people to people.

      • September 3, 2010 4:16 pm

        @khadija – yeah, but if somebody refers to god as “she,” folks have a field day freaking out about it. so…if god is gender neutral, why is there such a stigma against referring to god as anything other than he? i know it’s a deficiency in the language…i’m just…wishing that we actually practiced that belief instead of freaking out when somebody refers to god as she (as i am wont to do, except when in the company of freaker outers).

        i mean, i believe god is bigger than gender, and i don’t think it should matter. but…the majority sure is NOT on board with that in practice. which makes me sad.

  9. September 2, 2010 8:42 pm

    ah, so kai wins these delicious bars of invented chocolate. here you go.

    can you taste them? they’re very yummy.

  10. September 2, 2010 8:42 pm

    PS is the fictitious chocolate real?

  11. September 2, 2010 8:45 pm

    Oh hi everyone, are you all here now? 😀

    /brainless comment

    • September 2, 2010 8:53 pm

      i’m here off and on. since you’re here too will you cook dinner for my kids? oh wait.

      • September 2, 2010 9:11 pm

        Sure! We’re having…um washing-up time, which means I’m now typing with TWO fingers hahaha

  12. Kaimalino permalink
    September 2, 2010 9:17 pm

    Maryam, thanks for the chocolate! Can it be encased in Entemann’s cake? 😉

    FYI, LDS people believe there is a Heavenly Mother in addition to Heavenly Father, although she is rarely mentioned to protect her from the disrespect the world gives God. This concepts is part of why the divinely-instituted pattern for eternal families is such a central part of the faith.

    I hear you about sexism directed at boys! I probably have a less-fluid concept of gender than Maryam does, but as someone who demands accuracy and clarity from myself and everyone else, I bristle whenever I get the (never-ending) comments about how my third son is “all boy.” What does that even mean?! Yes, he is built like a bear cub, all chest and bum with great big hands, but his plumbing is not any more male than that of my other two little men. I don’t get it. Similarly, I don’t understand comments about little girls being “girly girls.” Huh? At least I don’t have to hear that one a whole lot, seeing as I’m not a “girly girl” (which, I’ve gathered, would require me to better appreciate fashionable shoes and flat irons) and I live in a House of Testosterone (where the males dig ballet and tell me the new throw pillows make great forts AND look cute).
    I remember when the Smurfs were on TV back when I was a kid. My English teacher father and I used to joke about how “smurfy” was an all-purpose adjective that meant whatever you needed it to mean. People are smurfy about gender identity.

    • September 2, 2010 10:05 pm

      kai, i’m upgrading your winnings to be an entire truckload of entemann’s chocolate delights!

      i didn’t know that about LDS, and i think it’s so interesting and powerful and fascinating. where can i read more about it?

      yes, all boy and girly girl, i spit on thee. someone asked me if my daughter is a tomboy, and i was speechless. obvious answer: yes. but real answer: she is who she is. why do we need to stick a label on her? she likes insects and sparkly shoes. my son likes pink and purple and playing ball. they’re just kids. leave ’em alone.

      hehe, smurfy…

      • Kaimalino permalink
        September 2, 2010 11:26 pm

        http://lds.org/ldsorg/v/index.jsp?hideNav=1&locale=0&sourceId=956a94bf3938b010VgnVCM1000004d82620a____&vgnextoid=2354fccf2b7db010VgnVCM1000004d82620aRCRD

        See if this link works. . . It’s late LDS President Gordon B. Hinckley’s talk called “Daughters of God.” I can also FB it to you for a smoother delivery.

        Here’s another tidbit from late LDS General Authority, Elder Bruce R. McConkie. This is from a talk given in Tonga on 25Feb1976 and references a lovely LDS hymn by Eliza Snow that mentions Heavenly Mother (one of the only direct references we have but always confirmed and supported by prophets). I find all the talk of LDS women being “oppressed” so ironic and unfounded when I read and hear how highly women are spoken of, and that people of both genders are so loved and important. Only people outside my faith speak of my oppression.

        “We know the place women hold in the plan of salvation. All of us are spirit children of God our Heavenly Father. We dwelt with him in the pre-existence; we are members of his family; we were begotten in his image. He ordained and established the plan of salvation so that we could advance and progress and become like him. The plan of salvation is called the gospel of Jesus Christ.

        But spirit children are not born to a Father only. We are the offspring of Heavenly Parents. We lived in the family unit in the pre-existence. As our great doctrinal hymn says:

        “In the heavens are parents single?
        No; the thought makes reason stare!
        Truth is reason, truth eternal
        Tells me I’ve a mother there.”
        LDS Hymns, no. 139

        The name of the kind of life enjoyed by our Heavenly Parents is called eternal life. If we are to gain eternal life, if we are to advance and progress and become like them, we too must live in the family unit in the world to come. In other words, we must gain eternal family units of our own that are patterned after that of our Eternal Parents. This is the high and holy hope that the gospel holds out to both men and women.

        Now, may I say that every eternal blessing offered to men; every gift, and grace, and good thing that men enjoy; and every power they possess; and every miracle they can work—all of these things are available to women also.”

        Now will you make MY kids dinner? 🙂

  13. Maryam permalink
    September 2, 2010 11:33 pm

    yes i will now most definitely make your kids dinner! soons i can get—these—cookies—through—the dvd slot.

    thanks for posting that, it’s really beautiful and inspiring. i’m going to check out the link tonight. 🙂

  14. FoxyKate permalink
    September 3, 2010 1:18 pm

    Ooh! Oooooooh! Pick me pick me!

    • September 3, 2010 2:09 pm

      oh, okay, you can have some invented chocolate too 😀

Leave a Reply

