Skip to content

Looking Up is Good For the Soul

August 12, 2010
by

I used to know a boy, well, then he was a guy, and then a man… and our ways through life would cross now and then for chunks of time. He said some memorable things and one was on a day filled with exquisite clouds I hadn’t noticed until he said: “Nobody ever looks up.” I’ve remembered those words for the last 10 years, and this post is about that: Looking up is good for the soul. Try it.

Feel free to leave a link to your own looking up photos!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 12:26 pm

    You know the funny thing is that I was first introduced to that thought in the context of crime lit, and it amuses me no end. So when I look up, it’s to find the criminal in the rafters.

    Nevertheless (because I’ve growed up now), I’m always looking up, and NOT ONLY because I am not a tall person.

    Mars and the moon:
    Mars is bright tonight

    I look at the underbellies of planes. Then I take pictures for reasons I can’t explain:
    Photobucket

    The glass dome of a mall in Bangladesh:
    Photobucket

    It is also well-known (to me, anyway XD) that I have a fixation on clouds. I can’t help taking pictures of them. Lots of them.

    From Waterloo Bridge:
    From Waterloo Bridge

    This was my desktop wallpaper for months:
    Photobucket

    Sunset:
    Photobucket

    Photobucket

    But SOMETIMES, the only place to look is down.

    From our 14th-floor flat in Bangladesh:
    Photobucket

    From the SKY, goodbye Bangladesh:
    Photobucket

    From, er, a few feet off the ground:
    Photobucket

  2. August 15, 2010 2:02 pm

    saya, awesomeness. i love your pictures! i tried for the post but didn’t notice any clouds that stuck me as picture-worthy, likely because i was too busy looking down at my kids. i’m glad to see yours because they are GORGEOUS.

Leave a Reply

