Skip to content

Signs of Life

August 5, 2010

Brilliant graffiti:

Hazy through the windshield, but so worth asking:

Do this and you’ll learn so much about enjoying life in the present:

You don’t have to agree with it all to appreciate the effort:

My ever-present word of wisdom (in driving and all things):

Ahh… yes.

I followed a woman home to get a good picture of this:

It’s still real hiking even if they label it “easiest”:

Outgoing mail (with the amazingest quote ever):

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 11:00 pm

    I think it’s extraordinarily telling about the kind of person I’m not that I go around taking pictures of signs/people/things whose stupidity offends me (AND that I’m going to amass them into a post about why stupidity is the world’s biggest killer).

    Meaning: this is a better way to look at life.

    Photobucket

    • August 5, 2010 11:22 pm

      oh but how your posts with such stupidities (i’m think of the political poster one) make me laugh! feel free to post a “signs of dumb life” sequel 😉 is that a street post up there?

      does anyone else have signs to link to or reply with? i’d love to see more. this photographing signs has hooked me. i have yet to muster the guts to ask people if i can take a pic of their t-shirts, but that’s got to come soon. i’ve seen some beauties lately.

      • Allumer permalink
        August 6, 2010 7:08 pm

        I’m ashamed to admit that I have been taking photos of signs for a long time but they have all been boring, profane, or gross (like that road named “Tapeworm” on the way to the Mazaar).

      • August 6, 2010 9:50 pm

        It’s a lamp-post that was outside where I used to work! I suddenly saw it one day and it was lovely. Even though, strictly speaking, it’s antisocial behaviour.

        After an endorsement like that, I feel like it is less bad for me to be so clearly negative providing it is entertaining for the masses. So it is definitely coming, iA. It will be full of disgust and and incredulity XD

        re: t-shirts…that’s what your optical zoom is for >_>

        @Allumer: oh ha, yes, me too! What specifically comes to mind are the many I took in Egypt of hilarious misspellings that are too rude to share in public. But very funny. My sister was scandalised that I took them. I was scandalised I took them.

  2. Kaimalino permalink
    August 8, 2010 4:28 am

    I love this post!
    In high school I played a standing game with friends where we took pictures of ourselves in front of various goofy signs. . . far less mature and insightful than any of these interpretations. More like me growling in front of a “beware of dog” sign, or looking into the sky next to a sign with a silhouette of an airplane (meant to indicate the runway at the air force base).
    We also sometimes took photos of crazy tourists under the guise of taking pictures of each other. We’d put each other out of focus in the foreground in order to get the real subject(s) in focus in the background. I’m remembering a very hairy man in a leopard-print loin cloth swim suit . . . . Then we’d write captions for the photos and vote on the best ones until we nearly wet ourselves with hysteria. Pretty deep, I know. Really, we weren’t being mean, just enjoying the wide variety of people in the world and the fact they all came to visit our hometown.
    @Saya: I think scandalizing your sister is a hobby of yours!

  3. August 8, 2010 12:25 pm

    oh i love how y’all have or used to have your own funny photo projects!

    i really like this blog’s wash wednesday clothesline photo project, which is going to be made into a book: gardenmama and also here on gardenmama. she did a wandering wednesday that i love, too, with everyone sending in pics of a moment in their days with their own feet down in the photo.

    • August 8, 2010 8:12 pm

      I take photos of my washing lines all the time >_>

      Photobucket

      It’s the colours. They are so VERY bright and lovely.

      I also take pictures of clouds. It’s a compulsion.

Leave a Reply

