Skip to content

Linger Teaser & Boy vs. Girl (and winners)

June 20, 2010

Next month, we are thrilled to host Na’ima B Robert as she kicks off her blog-tour for her new book, ‘Boy vs. Girl‘, coming out on July 15th, 2010. Not your traditional YA author, Na’ima brings together her experiences from her rich multicultural heritage, strong beliefs and changing life to take you to a world where faith and family can tear you in opposite directions, and staying true to yourself can really be a matter of life and death.

Make sure you come back and check it out!

Thanks to everyone who took part in our Maggie Stiefvater fangirling giveaway! We really enjoyed reading people’s answers to the question, many of which were pleasantly surprising – Shakespeare, of course, makes the lineup for any mention of poetry, but not overshadowing masters like Rumi and old-world masterpieces like the Lady of Shalott. Great answers, everyone, and thank you for sharing.

Congratulations to:

  • Llehn, who wins a signed copy of Lament;
  • Bee, who wins a signed copy of Ballad, and
  • Deb and Kinsey, who are runners-up, winning signed coverprints.

It’s still a month until Linger is released, and Scholastic have released a teaser of Maggie reading the prologue and chapter 1, which you can listen to here.

But…I listened to it, and although I think Maggie is hilarious and awesome, both as a speaker, writer and actress (and artist, musician, chef, etc. etc. – this is a woman of many talents), I must admit I read Linger very differently. VERY differently.

To me, Linger was understated, subtle and quiet – very funny, but I found its overall tone more muted and gentle than Maggie’s reading suggested. So I did my rebel-without-a-cause thing and recorded my own version of how it sounded to me before remembering you can’t email Maggie anymore. So, Internet, you can listen to it until I change my mind and get rid of it, or Scholastic send a hitman after me – whichever happens sooner.

Trust me, guys, audiobook-style reading is harder than it looks. Apart from spending an age figuring out how Audacity worked, and trying to increase my mic volume, what I finished up with is a choppy recording that doesn’t even accurately translate what is in my head. I kept messing up the inflections, finishing a breath when I should’ve finished the sentence – I improvised one such error with MAD STYLIN’ so (I think) you couldn’t tell unless you were following it with the text – AND I apparently can’t pronounce ‘Minnesota’ (hello, what WAS that?) despite having pronounced it correctly my whole life. It was all choppy and snippy because I kept stopping because I made mistakes that were TOO BAD TO IGNORE, and OH GOD, my email notifier kept pinging (you can hear it once, if you listen carefully) and then! THE PHONE RANG. It made me weep tears of blood.

This happens to everyone, apparently, though. Including Maggie:

I also got really really thirsty. And hungry. And frustrated. It’s amazing it sounds so calm and not, like, this:

…when words fail you, say it with anime.

Thanks to everyone who took part in the Maggie Stiefvater

giveaway! I personally really enjoyed reading people’s answers

to the question, many of which were pleasantly surprising –

Shakespeare, of course, makes the lineup for any mention of

poetry, often overshadowing masters like Rumi

<https://therockpool.wordpress.com/2010/05/13/words-on-maggie-lin

ger-fangirling-giveaways/#comment-559> and old-world

masterpieces like the Lady of Shalott. Great answers, everyone,

and thank you for sharing.

Congratulations to:
Llehn, who wins a signed copy of Lament
Bee, who wins a signed copy of Ballad, and
Deb and Kinsey, who are runners-up, winning signed coverprints.

Make sure you reply to the email with your postal addresses so

your prizes can be dispatched!

~

It’s still a month until Linger is released, and Scholastic have

released a teaser of Maggie reading the prologue and chapter 1,

which you can listen to here.

<http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/media.jsp?id=1355&gt;.

But…I listened to it, and although I think Maggie is hilarious

and awesome, both as a speaker, writer and actress (link) (and

artist, musician, chef, etc etc – this is a woman of many

talents), I must admit I read Linger very differently. VERY

differently.

To me, Linger was understated, subtle and quiet – very funny,

but I found its overall tone more muted than Maggie’s reading

suggested. So I did my rebel-without-a-cause thing and recorded

my own version of how it sounded to me.

Trust me, guys, audiobook-style reading is harder than it looks.

Apart from spending an age figuring out how Audacity worked, and

trying to increase my mic volume, what I finished up with is a

choppy recording that doesn’t even accurately translate what is

in my head. I kept messing up the inflections, finishing a

breath when I should’ve finished the sentence – I improvised one

such error with mad stylin’ so I think you couldn’t tell unless

you were following it with the text –
AND I apparently can’t pronounce ‘Minnesota’ (hello, what WAS

that?) despite having pronounced it correctly my whole life. It

was all choppy and snappy because I kept stopping because I made

mistakes that were TOO BAD TO IGNORE, AND OH GOD, my email

notifier kept pinging (you can hear it once, if you listen

carefully) and THEN! THE PHONE RANG. It made me weep tears of

blood.

This happens to everyone, apparently, though. Including Maggie:

embed:
<object width=”480″ height=”385″><param name=”movie”

value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/0wouoHV1d0w&hl=en_US&fs=1&”></pa

ram><param name=”allowFullScreen” value=”true”></param><param

name=”allowscriptaccess” value=”always”></param></object>

I also got really really thirsty. And hungry. And frustrated.

It’s amazing it sounds so calm and not, like, this:

https://therockpool.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/vlcsnap-408417.pn

g

And finally: next month, we are thrilled to host Na’ima B Robert

as she kicks off her blog-tour for her new book, ‘Boy vs. Girl’

<amaz link>, coming out on July 15th, 2010. Not your traditional

YA author, Na’ima brings together her experiences from her rich

multicultural heritage, strong beliefs and changing life to take

you to a world where faith and family can tear you in opposite

directions, and staying true to yourself can really be a matter

of life and death.’

Make sure you come back and check it out!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 2:14 am

    Uh, you have a Really Lovely Voice. Seriously, I almost fell asleep, which is like a compliment because I’m a sleep deprived insomniac which means I just lie on my bed all night with my eyes flying open and my heart beating fast. And God, I sound like someone out of “O Brother Where Art Thou?” with some horrible New Yawkese sprinkled in for good measure.

    • June 20, 2010 12:56 pm

      Uh…does that make it haram? I think I’ll take the link out at the end of the day, in case anyone else wants to listen to it.

      I never watched that film so I can’t appreciate it! But I have endlessly watched the ceiling or my alarm clock or the back of my eyelids, afflicted by the same insomnia, refusing to count sheep OR their legs and then dividing the number by 4. Seriously. Insomnia is bad enough, let’s not compound it with maths.

  2. June 20, 2010 3:48 am

    Thank you SO MUCH!
    You just made my day so much better :))

    Love the post..*goes to listen to audio recordings*

Trackbacks

  1. Na’ima B Robert on ‘Boy vs. Girl’ (and a giveaway) «

Leave a Reply

