Skip to content

Words on Maggie: Linger, Fangirling & Giveaways

May 13, 2010

This is the story of a boy who used to be a wolf and a girl who was becoming one.

Maggie Stiefvater‘s third book, Shiver, debuted at a stunning #9 on the NYT Bestsellers’ List last year, and remained on it for more than 25 weeks. Its sequel, Linger (Scholastic Press, 2010), comes out this Summer on the 20th July, 2010.

the longing.

Once Grace and Sam have found each other, they know they must fight to stay together. For Sam, this means reckoning with his werewolf past. For Grace, it means facing a future that is less and less certain.

the loss.

Into their world comes a new wolf named Cole, whose past is full of hurt and danger. He is wrestling with his own demons, embracing the life of a wolf while denying the ties of being human.

the linger.

For Grace, Sam, and Cole, life is a constant struggle between two forces – wolf and human…as their world falls apart, love is what lingers. But will it be enough?

What can I say? I have waited for this book for SO LONG (the worst part of the fangirl job-description), and it made its way across the Atlantic for me, and I’ve read it and I love it and I have no idea how to a) start this review, or b) write it without spoiling it for everybody. For everyone who is waiting for this book, and everyone who loved Shiver, and everyone who loves Sam and Grace, and everyone who was so ready to cry their eyes out at the end of the previous book – you won’t be disappointed. You really really won’t.

I’m struggling to talk about it without giving anything away, and it goes against my genetic hard-wiring to  tell people what happened in books they haven’t read. So for a proper grown-up review, go read Noor’s. I’m just going to fangirl, okay?

After Shiver, I admit I was a little bit doubtful about where else this story would or could go, how it wouldn’t be repeat of it but in reverse – I had faith in Maggie (even though I thought Lament was a little shaky*), but judging from Shiver, I couldn’t see where this was set up to go. In fact, it was a while before Maggie revealed it HAD a sequel (and the SEQUEL had a sequel**).

Linger takes a step up from Shiver and really works its momentum, introducing two new first-person narrative voices in addition to Grace and Sam. We’ve already met prickly and spunky Isabel, and now we meet Cole, a new wolf – and a complicated jerk – creating an ambitious four-way narrative.

Can I take a moment to do some Isabel-fangirling? How awesome is she? The girl’s a…not a nice person, but totally honest with it…and actually, it turns out she’s not such a…not-nice person after all, but she would rather have you think that she is. Grace’s history gives her character depth and complexity, but with Isabel, it’s her personality. It was skilful contrast at its best, and the reason why you could laugh your way through so much of it.

Grace: What are you feeding them?
Isabel: Babies.

This. This is why I really like Isabel. I like tough girls in fiction: the ones that give no quarter but secretly have hearts in places where they hope nobody will ever discover them. I noticed several times how the description of her expressions were telling you…she looked ‘inadvertently cruel’, she had a smile that ‘always looked like a smirk’, her ‘sheer insensitivity’. In some ways you feel like she has all the appearance of a, er, not-nice person without any real evidence that she actually is one.

You know what? I want to be FRIENDS with Isabel, the girl makes me laugh like a chimney-sweep on drugs. BE MY FRIEND, ISABEL.

You know what else? Even though it was all of the things Shiver was – lyrical and quiet and a necklace of moments – it was also really funny. I laughed to myself a LOT (on the bus, as usual), even at the most serious parts – Isabel’s a magic ingredient.**** And this is another thing that was just great about Linger. A writer with less intuition would hamstring themselves by taking it all too seriously – boys who turn into wolves, wolves who turn into boys, girls who love them…it can all get very angsty very quickly – or it can go Twilight – but it doesn’t.

It’s not that it’s ‘real’ or realistic – I mean, hello, it’s about werewolves, and werewolves somewhat lack ecological validity – but what is at the core of it is its honesty. The characters are far from perfect – they might be self-involved jerks, but they are unflinchingly honest with it. This is why you can love them – they never pretend to be anything else, not in their own heads. And that’s true for every one of the main characters – their narratives burn with it. You can love them because you can be them.

In other books, first-person narratives often suffer a loss of quality because…I think the best way I can describe it is to go a little academic and talk about something called ‘social desirability distortion’, which is jargonese for when people make themselves appear how they think they ought to be, rather than how they truly are. Writers are serial perpetrators where this is concerned; with or without realising it, characters are idealised and ‘tidied up’ – even their flaws and inconsistencies.

Live a little or live a lot, you know the things you do, say or think aren’t always consonant with each other: consistency is a goal and a work in progress, it rarely truly exists in a person as completely as a lot of books would have you believe. So much depends not only on the person you are, but on the situation, the different internal pressures that might make you react in different ways to the same situation – there are so many variables, so many things, that even your inconsistencies must lack consistency, and ‘the person you are’ is as much a sum of your contradictions as anything else.

These four – Sam, Grace, Isabel and Cole – they are so different, and yet in all their differences, they remain steadfastly honest characters, and so earnestly human. And at its heart, I feel like this is what this whole story comes down to: not just staying human, but being human, even when you don’t want to be, even if it kills you.

The following is an excerpt of one of my favourite (non-spoiling) moments from Linger:

Sam

Stepping out into the middle of the sidewalk, I watched tiny flakes float down onto the abandoned street. As far as I could see, there were banks of old snow pressed into stained sculptures. Icicles made jagged smiles on the storefronts.

My eyes smarted with the cold. I held my free hand out, palm up, and watched as snow dissolved on my skin.

This was not real life. This was life as watched through a window. Life watched on television. I couldn’t remember when I hadn’t hidden from this.

I was cold, I had a handful of snow, and I was human.

The future stretched before me, infinite and growing and mine, in a way that nothing had ever been before.

On finishing this book…I feel very tired and very sad, and about a hundred years old. I wonder if anyone will be able to read this without it sharpening any pain or grief or loss they might have felt in their own lives. Linger is like a song, aching and wistful and beautiful. It happened that I was finishing the book off to the soundtrack of one of my students playing ‘Memory‘ from Andrew Lloyd Webber’s ‘Cats’ on their piano, and it’s become woven into my memory of it, its theme.

And you know what? It’s perfect.

~

Giveaway!

What? I haven’t told you about the giveaway yet?! I confess I forgot. A long post becomes longer – the story of my life 😄

Because a) we are awesome, and b) Maggie is awesome, we are giving away, like, stuff. Specifically, SIGNED COPIES of LAMENT and BALLAD, as well as a handful of signed cover-plates for runners-up. (Sorry, I love my ARC too much to part with it.)

To enter, just answer this question in the comments (and remember to enter your email address on the form):

In Shiver and Linger, Sam reveals a love for German poetry, especially that of Rilke and Roethke.Who is your favourite poet – or what is your favourite poem – and why?

To gain EXTRA ENTRIES:

+1 (each) if you post this link on Facebook or Twitter (post the links in your comment)
+2 if you post it on your blog (also post the link in your comment)
+3 if you subscribe to this blog by email! (box is in the bottom right-hand corner of this page)

This contest is open INTERNATIONALLY. Closing date: 15th June 2010.

Be sure to also enter our JESSICA DAY GEORGE ARC GIVEAWAY, which closes REALLY SOON, like, MAY 19th.

~

For Linger-miscellany and footnotes:

Two Random Things I Learnt from Linger

  • Americans don’t know how to pronounce ‘foyer’. I have no idea how they THINK you should pronounce it, but they laugh at us saying ‘foi-yay’. We laugh at you, Americans, we laugh at you.
  • A loon is not, as I have been brought up to believe, a crazy person. A loon is an animal. A bird-duck-like thing, to be precise. So when you’re laughing ‘like a loon on loon tablets’…it doesn’t mean what I think? This, ladles and jellyspoons, is what comes of an urban upbringing.

Fridge Miscellany

In my merciless Maggie-fangirling (when she came to London last October), I was telling her how much I loved the Grace-making-quiche scene in Shiver (and petitioned for a Maggie-cookbook – ‘Maybe’, she said). Grace cooks! She makes quiche! She has ten thousand kinds of cheese in her fridge! This girl is my FRIEND.

And AND! Sam helps her cook – and he knows cheese. You guys! if you read Slice of Lemon (READ IT, IT’S AWESOME), you can laugh with me here about Sabrina’s cheese fixation, and understand that cheese enthusiasts are rare.

So anyway, what I meant to say is that Grace and Sam in the kitchen making food is a winning recipe (do you see what I did there?). And in Linger, Grace cooks MORE.

* I did say this to Maggie’s VERY FACE, and she didn’t eat me, or cry, so I guess it’s okay to say it on the internet.
** If you rearrange the letters*** of ‘sequel’ you get ‘squeel’ which is really almost as good as ‘squeal’.
*** I’ve been reading John Green.
**** Or perhaps Maggie is the magic ingredient? Duh.

All quotes are taken from the uncorrected proof supplied to The Rock Pool for review by Scholastic Press, US.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 11:43 pm

    “You know what? I want to be FRIENDS with Isabel, the girl makes me laugh like a chimney-sweep on drugs. BE MY FRIEND, ISABEL.”

    Can I just take this moment to say that YOU make ME laugh like a chimney-sweep on drugs, and I am so happy you are my friend and sister?

    “** If you rearrange the letters*** of ‘sequel’ you get ‘squeel’ which is really almost as good as ‘squeal’.”

    Even better, one letter less and you’d have squee, which is my favorite fangirl-related verb. I’m squeeing right now.

    • May 13, 2010 11:49 pm

      OH SQUEE, YES, SQUEE!

      You know, of course, that ‘squee’ has a silent ‘squ’? >_>

      Eee me too! But I have to be cool an aloof in public otherwise people will think I’m nice, and I don’t want them to think I am nice, because obviously I am not…can you see why I like Isabel? 😄

      • May 13, 2010 11:57 pm

        Yes, I shall keep it for possible future blackmail that you are, in fact, a decently amazingly sweet and nice and generous human being. 😄 Completely under wraps I swear!

        Actually, I’m quite fond of mispronouncing it with the squ…as well as properly with just the eeeeeeeee. Sort of like a cross between a squeak and an eeeee. Or something. Squee is just such an amazing and versatile word.

      • May 14, 2010 12:03 am

        Everyone, she’s lying like a TROOPER. A STORM-TROOPER.

        Just so we get that clear.

        Anything with a ‘q’ in it is amazingly versatile! Like ‘queue’. Wonderful word. Brilliant concept.

  2. May 14, 2010 3:30 am

    My favorite poet is the Islamic mystical poet Rumi. I first heard of him when I was listening to NPR on the way home from work back in 2001 (maybe 2002?) The book “The Soul of Rumi” had just been released and they were interviewing the author. They read a few short poems and I was hooked.

    Extra Entries:
    +1: Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=796845967
    +3 I follow through the RSS feed and you are on my Google home page 🙂

  3. Kaimalino permalink
    May 14, 2010 3:34 am

    The use of “ecological validity” and “werewolves” in the same sentence completely made my day. I tell my husband this is a serious literary blog made up of highly educated, thoughtful individuals. Once again, you make it true even while I laugh my head off!
    How could you not know what a loon is? Have you never seen “On Golden Pond”? Please YouTube some footage so you can hear why people say “laughing like a loon.”
    And for the record, I am American and have always said “foi-yay.” (Perhaps an advantage of being from the 50th state?) But I still don’t know for sure what an “Oystercard” is. Sounds like a Visa for marine biologists.
    Off to plot my weekend escape to the bookstore to load up on Maggie books!

    • May 14, 2010 11:45 pm

      You don’t move in the right circles! If you had hung out with the geeky ‘palefaces’* who read sci-fi and fantasy, were allergic to daylight and obsessed with nearly every form of gaming, you would have heard them discuss the ecological validity of orcs and things ALL THE TIME. Writing SF&F is a science – you can’t make it up as you go along, because internal validity is important, and if you get it wrong, your obsessive readers WILL notice, and they will berate you, and you will lose ALL credibility FOREVER.

      Obviously, I’m a hanger-on with the geeky-legion 😄 I used to write for a (now more or less defunct) webcomic that parodied a fantasy series, you know.

      How can I have known what a loon is?!? I live in a CITY – a REALLY BIG city – not far from a MENTAL HOSPITAL. A loon is a HOSPITAL-ESCAPEE. I am fairly sure when anyone around here says ‘laughing like a loon’ they mean ‘laughing like a crazy person’ rather than ‘laughing like a kind of duck-bird thing’! Language is a wonderful thing. We should add a ‘loon disambiguation’ entry to the Lexicon.

      Oyster cards! I think they’re unique to us – every Londoner’s got one. I was with someone who was visiting London once, and he made this strange hand-mime (the same one you’d do to indicate ‘chatterbox’ XD), and I was like, what are you DOING, you weirdo? He explained that it meant OYSTER, stupid. I had to admit that I had clean forgotten that ‘oyster’ actually meant something OTHER than a little blue card.

      * ty Steph Meyer for that 😄 Incidentally, part of the reason Meyer isn’t awful is that she pays attention to detail (as in, detail other than Edward’s sparkliness), so her internal validity and consistency works, for the most part.

      • Kaimalino permalink
        May 17, 2010 4:07 pm

        Never really realized it before, but validity is probably why I grew tired of Brandon Mulls’ Fablehaven series and didn’t finish the last two books. It felt like the foreshadowing was only ever one chapter ahead, and the magical resolutions to problems were dropping out of the sky at the author’s whim. I fold my underwear. I shop with a list. I date my canned goods with a Sharpie pen. I need order, not magic catching me off-guard deus-et-machina-style. That gives me chest pains.
        Validity is part of what makes JK Rowling’s work so genius. To have magical consistency and also have it echo reality so well takes a clever, clever writer.
        OK, the thing with loons (I can’t let it go!) is that they SOUND crazy, so the mental hospital escapee comparison is perfect, speaking of validity. I didn’t grow up near loons (of the avian variety) either, but I thought I understood the metaphor. Then when I visited Canada as a camp counselor I got a lesson in their currency, and met a whole different type of loon–they have a loon on one of their coins and call it a “loonie.” Their coin that is worth $2 is called a “twonie.” My girls made fun of me constantly because I couldn’t keep track of my money and would offer $10 for a package of gum, just because I couldn’t count change fast enough and didn’t want to hold up the line and look stupid (or specifically in this case, American). The line moved quickly, but I never manage to avoid looking stupid!

  4. Debasmita permalink
    May 14, 2010 4:33 am

    I love ‘All the World’s A Stage’ by William Shakespeare. The seven stages of a man are so beautifully and aptly described in that poem. It is a lovely combination of knowledge and entertainment…with a fell of the theater/stage performance too!

    I Tweeted-http://twitter.com/Debasmitadhar/status/13953703444
    Blog mention-http://bookaholicsoye.blogspot.com/(under ‘Contests’ in the right sidebar)
    I am also an email subscriber

    Wish I win this one,
    frndz.debas@gmail.com

  5. Lindsey permalink
    May 14, 2010 10:14 pm

    My favorite poems are any of Shakespeare’s sonnets!

    +3 if you subscribe to this blog by email!

  6. May 16, 2010 3:58 am

    I really love “She waks in beauty” by Lord Byron. I can’t say I’m a poetry fan but this one really touches me.
    I wouldn’t let my ARC go either if I had one 😛

    +1 tweet: http://twitter.com/Entre_Libros/status/14073385375
    +2 sidebar: http://blogentrelibros.blogspot.com/
    +3 email subscriber

    Thank you for the giveaway!!
    entrelibros_blog at hotmail dot com

  7. Kinsey permalink
    May 17, 2010 2:18 am

    First, just let me say that the fact that you’ve been reading John Green gave you about two hundred more cool points in addition to the many you had for these contests. 😀

    Also Grace making quiche in Shiver made me happy too. I love making quiche and although we don’t have ten thousand types of cheese, we do probably have five or ten different kinds at any point in time (we have -everything- in our fridge and pantry, which is what I miss most when I’m away at school).

    I think people here in America think that pronouncing “foyer” as “foi-yay” instead of pronouncing the ‘r’ like we do is pretentious? I tend to put a French accent on things accidentally since I’m a French minor (I still can’t pronounce the name of Vassar College without putting a French accent on it) and so I pronounce it foi-yay. I dunno, we pronounce things differently here. Like “aluminum” and “advertisement,” I noticed those a lot when we were in London.

    Now for the contest!

    My favorite poems are The Raven by Poe, The Lady of Shalott by Tennyson, and Fire and Ice by Frost. I think the first two have really pretty rhythms and rhymes and the last one is just pretty in general. I don’t really have more specific reasons than that. Sorry this entry wasn’t as interesting as the other one! T_T

    +1 Tweeted (again, I don’t know how to link but it’s at @potterinyp)
    +1 Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/posted.php?ref=ts#!/sunmono?v=wall&story_fbid=117881334918374&ref=mf but I dunno if that will work…)
    +2 Blog: http://sunmono.livejournal.com/834.html
    +3 Subscribed by email.

    Email is sunmono12790(at)yahoo(dot)com

    • June 2, 2010 11:48 pm

      Thanks Kinsey! …but what would you say if I told you I wanted to beat John Green over the head with my keyboard, though, for some of the things he wrote? ^_^

      (Namely that he wrote a lot of rather presumptuous and incorrect things about Islam, which, frankly were just not true – take it from me, I’m a Muslim. It’s like he maybe he read a book about Islam once, written by Jedediah Judd or something – so clearly authoritative – and now he’s an expert. I feel the same way about non-biologists arguing biology with me XD)

      The Lady of Shallott always makes me think of Anne of Green Gables! I quite likely would never have heard of it if not for Anne.

      • Kinsey permalink
        June 7, 2010 11:16 am

        I would apologize and commiserate because I’ve had that happen too, where people think they’re an expert and actually know nothing about it. It’s annoying. But John and his brother Hank have done a lot of good for nerds like me (I say nerd in a good way, I find it a compliment) in creating the Nerdfighters, which is a community of nerdy people who fight against worldsuck (like hunger and genocide) and work to increase awesome in the world, and also give us a community where we can embrace our geekiness. Not that it excuses what he wrote, because it totally doesn’t.

        You might like Paper Towns by him better, by the way. I wasn’t as fond of Katherines but I loved Paper Towns.

        Oh, I had forgotten about it being in Anne of Green Gables! I haven’t read that book in forever. My friend did the poem in forensics in high school, and last fall I found a print of one of the paintings of the Lady by John William Waterhouse at one of my college’s poster sales and it was gorgeous and I had to get it, and then I reread the poem and fell in love with it. Again.

        Sorry this comment is way late, I linked somebody to this contest (on the Nerdfighter site, actually) and then had to reread the blog post and saw your response to my comment and yeah. Hope it made sense, it’s 5:15 AM and I haven’t slept yet. I should do that soon…

      • June 8, 2010 10:52 am

        I know all about Nerdfighters fighting worldsuck! My sister is one, sigh. I watched a few of their videos when they were famous for being the vlog brothers, but I didn’t make the connection that they were the same people and also the ‘Accio Deathly Hallows’ people until not-too-long-ago. Paper Towns is the book I’ve been hearing a lot about (esp. from said sister), but libraries don’t have it so I will steal it from my sister when she buys it.

        I’m curious to see your poster, if you have a picture of it! (Also if you come back and see this comment XD)

        Sleep is a good idea. Even at 11 in the morning. >_>

      • Kinsey permalink
        June 9, 2010 4:32 am

        Sleep? Who sleeps? Not me…

        I would have to hunt down the poster to take a picture of it but it’s a print of this: http://greenmaggit.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/waterhouse_the_lady_of_shalott022.jpg
        Mine is pretty small, maybe 8 inches long by whatever the right proportion would be? But I feel it balances out the large zombie survival poster I also picked up… (I couldn’t resist.)

        Waterhouse is my favorite painter, he does all sort of mythology paintings and it’s wonderful.

  8. May 17, 2010 4:47 am

    it is nearly midnight and i’m having trouble reading this post in order, so i keep skipping from replies to bits of the post and then finding what the asterisks relate to by going backwards. basically all i can really understand right now is that i SO WANT TO WIN THIS CONTEST. perhaps… could i disassociate myself from the blog and remove my posts and then… come back and enter? puhlease?

    NO?

    • June 2, 2010 11:50 pm

      I think these books fall into your banned-book category! Like, for sure. Because they are very much romantic. They are not even like Jasmyn where there’s a teeny bit of married-person romance at the end…

  9. Phylene permalink
    May 18, 2010 6:35 pm

    For the contest entry…. (thanks for asking it was fun to go back in time for awhile)

    Grimm brothers fairy tales the best. After racking my brain to choose my favorite (it has been so long…) I would venture to say Snow White is my favorite. The jealousy that her mother exhibited is so true to life. So often we see that same “tale” playing out between mother and daughter in our own lives. And….. if you go the modern version… who would not want 7 men to take care of you and your needs day in and out? (c:
    Phylene

  10. May 23, 2010 1:23 pm

    Wow, such a lovely post!

    I love William Wordsworth’s Lucy poems especially Lucy Gray and Strange Fits of Passion. So gorgeously written and they moved me to tears! His words play ripples in my mind..I love the way he writes.

    And I’d so love to win Linger.

    +1 I tweeted (www.twitter.com/bee_muses)
    +1 I facebook-ed (dunno how to link this, but my FB name is ‘Bidisha Das’. Or you could also try http://www.facebook.com/theoutlandishdreamcatcher)
    +2 I linked to my blog sidebar (www.talkmusebanter.blogspot.com)
    +3 I subscribe by email (speak_to_bidisha@yahoo.co.in)

    Thank you so much for this :))

    • May 23, 2010 1:44 pm

      Hi Bee! (taking a break from my mad statistical antics to bring you this message XD) Just wanted to point out it’s signed copies of BALLAD and LAMENT we’re giving away, because I’m too selfish to part with Linger (and I am fully holding on for Maggie to sign it when she next comes here)!

  11. Danielle Myers permalink
    May 26, 2010 4:21 am

    I like Dr. Seuss! I realize that that’s not exactly, traditional, but that’s me. He’s completely timeless! I mean, you’d be hard put to find a kid in your neighborhood who hasn’t at some point or another heard of Green Eggs and Ham (I happen to know for a fact that two of the schools in my state actually serve green eggs and ham once a year for lunch)
    Bet you didn’t see THAT poet coming. 🙂

    • May 27, 2010 12:22 am

      I really didn’t, but I’m glad it did! Dr Seuss is Legend. I’d put Lewis Carroll only slightly above him, because the Hunting of the Snark is so very very brilliant, even though the Lorax was possibly one of my most-read-when-I-was-a-smaller-person pieces of verse.

      I do not like them, Sam I am, I do not like green eggs and ham!

      Being as how ham is haram, obv.

  12. June 2, 2010 3:19 am

    So nice and by the way, you’re a very humorous person. Fufufufufu. Oh and by the way +3 for subscribing to you. And~ let me see, wait *sneezes* And I did sneeze, no joke. When I look at your icon, I just think Ouran High School Club even though it won’t be it, I just think of it, really.
    Oh and by the way, I know how you feel, giving up arcs, ‘specially ones that you treasure, are hard to give up. But I haven’t read her previous books only Shiver so all is well really. I already entered a Linger contest so yeah. Also, I’m still surprised that Scholastics wanted to publish this, just saying. But quiche, cheese, sounds yummy, send me some cheesecake why don’t ya?

    • June 2, 2010 11:53 pm

      Thank you! Ooo you want Ouran High School? ^_^ Spot them here! Anime love!

      This good chap is Shigure from Fruits Basket. My face really does look like that. All the time.

      Seriously, I’m not kidding.

      Except when I’m asleep. I have no idea what my face looks like when I’m asleep. Because I’m asleep.

      • June 8, 2010 6:36 am

        *reads post* Yep! Although if we talk about Code Geass ( I like animes like this but not full scale mecha, I didn’t even know there was mecha in this anime before! )

        I see. My friend really likes Fruits Basket very much due to Yuuki.

        *tries to imagines face but fails*

        Yeah, I don’t know either. But I know I drool sometimes, sigh.

      • June 8, 2010 10:42 am

        I’m not really into mech either – there’s something about robots that just turns me off, be they in books, films or anime. Just…no. This is why I can’t bring myself to ever pick up an Isaac Asimov.

        Fruits Basket in anime is good a) in Japanese, and b) only up until about episode 21. After that it spiralled into the made-up-26-episode-wrap-up. I hated it after that: the manga is brilliant. 23 volumes long, but brilliant. Yuki was not my favourite character, though. I can’t decide which one is, but Momiji is a strong contender.

        I can’t find this awesome YouTube video of the original of his song ‘teru teru Momiji’. Darn.

  13. June 2, 2010 4:23 pm

    I love Robert Frost because his poems are both haunting and melancholic.

    +3 I subscribe to this blog via email 😀

  14. Samantha permalink
    June 3, 2010 2:32 am

    I love Howl by Allen Ginsberg, I can’t get anough of it. I have the book Howl and other poems by Allen Ginsberg, I take it with me averywhere lol. It’s a must have for everyone.

    +1 http://twitter.com/Luna_Divine/status/15291379041
    +3 if you subscribe to this blog by email!

  15. June 4, 2010 1:44 am

    I saw this link on Maggie’s fan page. Sad? Oh my. You’ve scared me. I’m a big romance, happy ever after reader. I have to have my happy endings. I love Sam and Grace, together! Now I will fret until the release. *Sigh*

    This was a great post, btw. 🙂

    • June 8, 2010 10:45 am

      Thanks Posey!

      Don’t worry, remember it’s only the middle book before the end! Stuff has to happen before we get to the end. I’m a sucker for happy endings, too.

      I’d love to know what you think once you’ve read it!

  16. June 4, 2010 9:57 am

    My favourite poem is The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock by TS Eliot. I still don’t know if I understand it completely but it is written in the most mesmerising way with a stunning first line. And he was only 18 when he wrote it!

    +3 I subscribe via email

  17. Hinano Hovey permalink
    June 14, 2010 6:02 pm

    I love the poems of Shel Silverstein. I was introduced to his poems when my daughter, who at the time was in elementary school, was in our local speech festival where she had to recite, “Ickle Me, Pickle Me, Tickle Me too”.

    As she was growing up and would be in her “moods”, I would recite back to her “Ickle Me, Pickle Me, Tickle Me too” and that would be our little “game” as I was tickling her to get a laugh or smile from her. Now we do it over the phone as she lives a continent away.

    Shel Silverstein…good fun poet!

  18. June 17, 2010 12:03 am

    Hey everyone!

    We’ll be announcing the winners soon, along with another pretty awesome thing!

Trackbacks

  1. Jessica Day George contest! «
  2. Tweets that mention Words on Maggie: Linger, Fangirling & Giveaways « -- Topsy.com
  3. Jessica Day George contest winners! «
  4. Linger Teaser & Boy vs. Girl (and winners) «
  5. Words with Maggie: On Faith, Time-travel, and Spoons «

Leave a Reply

