Skip to content

Happy Belated Mother’s Day in the US!!!!!

May 10, 2010
tags:

I realize that Mother’s day was yesterday, but we were having all kinds of fun yesterday, leaving no time to post.  For example, we were busy tying my Mom’s bedroom door shut two nights ago  so that we actually had a chance to serve her breakfast in bed.  There’s a very simple reason for this particularly bizarre action: My mother is an early riser.  As in like, get up at 4:30 in the morning kind of early riser.  Meanwhile the rest of us have been in college too long and have learned to stay up incredibly late to finish assignments and then sleep in as late as possible.  Obviously, the second is not particularly conducive to bringing one’s mother breakfast in bed.

Following in the traditions of the Mother’s day posts, I suppose it is my duty to write about all of her many attributes.  Unfortunately, she does have many attributes, leaving me with either a very long blog or a much edited and shortened list.  To my regret, it will most likely be the second.

The first attribute, and one that I’m sure is on everyone’s list of their mother’s attributes, is that my mother is WONDERFUL!!!!! She’s truly amazing.  This is a woman who is versatile in her tasks and her hobbies.  (Versatile:  (adj.) capable of or adapted for turning easily from one to another of various tasks, fields of endeavor, etc.: a versatile writer.)  She works every day with people (which is a surprisingly difficult task, in spite of any contradicting evidence), and then she comes home and is busy at home, cooking, cleaning, or doing whatever needs to be done.

That may not sound like much, but actually, it’s huge.  She’s one of the most hardworking people that I know.  If you think that doesn’t have an impact on her children, then take into consideration that all of her children (I flatter myself that I am one of her children 🙂 ) are incredibly smart and willing to work hard for everything that comes their way, and even a few things that are out of the way.

The second attribute: She’s tolerant.  I’m not just talking about someone who’s fine with anyone practicing their own religion and beliefs.  She’s not only fine with it, she encourages it!  And then of course there’s her tolerance for all of my strange, unexplainable hobbies, and then it isn’t just tolerance, it’s support!  Granted, there are some things that I don’t really allow her to be too supportive of (such as my fictional writing: I never allow anyone inside my family to read that, strange as it may sound.  I think if I let her, she would be more than supportive of my writing), but then there are other things that she jumps into willingly.

How many people have Mothers that are willing to learn to snowboard, even when they are no longer twenty and no longer in Olympic-athlete shape?  Guess what?  My mom has done that.  This woman has also come with me on cattle drives, even though she hadn’t ridden much before that and she knew how much pain she would be in by the end of the day.  Now THAT is a wonderfully tolerant and supportive woman.

The third and final attribute (she has a lot more, but I don’t have quite enough time to list them all.  It would take the rest of eternity to do it.):  She knows how to have fun.  Maybe it’s not the kind of fun that a lot of people think of.  She doesn’t go out and get drunk every weekend with friends.  Far from it.  But when she does have a day off, she’ll make sure to go out and do something that she enjoys.  Like mountain biking, cross-country skiing, hiking, going for a walk around town or in the mountains, visiting family, talking to people (mostly the ones she wants to talk to), or even something as simple as playing frisbee with her kids.  Maybe that’s not something that everyone thinks is fun, but in the end, it’s what she thinks is fun, and as far as I’m concerned, that’s all that matters.

If you’re wondering why I think this is a great attribute that she possesses, it’s because I think that a lot of people are either about having fun all of the time, or else they are all about making money and taking care of everything that they have to.  I’m afraid I may fit into the second category.  However, this is a woman who is willing to work hard and give her job everything that she has, and then she is willing to go out and spend a little time and money to do something that will make her happy.  She doesn’t go overboard with it, but she does just enough to keep feeling content with life.  To me, that’s wonderful.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 10:24 pm

    Agh, I totally feel for you about trying to beat her to the kitchen or wherever – mothers seem to operate on a completely separate speed-setting. There’s ‘mum speed’, a little short of the speed of sound (she’s on the job before she’s finished telling you to do it), and there’s the rest of the world.

    That may not sound like much, but actually, it’s huge.

    Said as only a person who’s ever done housework can say it. I honestly find it easier to go out to work, than to stay at home and do housework. That said, I prefer housework, because you can do that on your own terms and listen to stuff at the same time and don’t have to talk to annoying people.

    Sigh, perhaps it isn’t the destiny of a daughter to ever keep up with her mother.

    Such a heartwarming post! I want to meet your mother! Although not snowboarding.

    (She snowboards! How awesome!)

  2. Kaimalino permalink
    May 13, 2010 3:49 pm

    I’ve been thinking about this all week. I try to be up by 5 a.m., so I can be back from the gym just as everyone else is getting up and I feel like I’m ahead of the parade of chaos that is morning around here. This week as I’ve been lacing up my shoes, I’ve thought, “Rivenheart’s mom has been up for half an hour already! I’m such a slacker!” 🙂
    On Mother’s Day, nobody had to tie my bedroom door shut (ha!) but I did lay in bed pretending to doze while listening to the little men make breakfast with their dad. It was too cute. I hpe my kids can have as many positive memories as you do. Thanks for sharing this!

Trackbacks

  1. Genocide and Gatorade Bottles «

Leave a Reply

