Skip to content

Discovering London

May 5, 2010

I had the best day ever; a day which you can only get when arranging an impromptu meeting with a friend to roam around London. I met with a fellow A&E medic; the only one who would understand my sleep deprived and lonely state and the desire to do something crazy on her day off.

We met at South Kensington station and after raucous greeting (which prompted a few Londoners to move aside at the sight of two hijaabis enthusiastically shouting and hugging each other), we proceeded to the Science Museum to see the ‘1001 Muslim inventions’ exhibition (free entrance). I’ve heard mixed reviews about this exhibition and I wanted to check it out first hand. The motto was: don’t raise your hopes up. Which I didn’t. And I was pleasantly and delightfully surprised!

The exhibition had enough gadgets, videos, visuals and models to even satisfy the inner kid inside of me. I particularly enjoyed the clip of the actor playing Az Zahrawi, who was both ridiculous and funny. I thoroughly recommend everyone to go especially as it has free entrance and is not long, probably takes 1 hour to view. A prayer room is also available in the Science Museum!

The exhibition did not quench our thirst for museums, so we proceeded next door to the Natural History Museum. Here, I felt a little out of place, not having done geography for (many) years, but I was accompanied by someone who had done Geography at A-level and who was excited about the whole museum and teaching (dunce) me about volcanoes and earthquakes. The most exciting part was meeting T-Rex! a moving model of the dinosaur (!!!)

Finally, my friend wanted to meet her ‘domestic goddess’ – Nigella Lawson. She had read in ‘The Metro’, a free daily London paper, that Nigella was launching her new iPhone app in the Regent’s Street Apple Store. So, we legged it. Actually, she did and I ran to catch up (there is a foot height difference between us). We sat in the comfy lecture theatre seats at the back and waited for her to come in. She did look older in real life, with heavy make up for the cameras. But she was gracious enough to sit for an hour answering questions and then to sign autographs. I didn;t have any paper, so I grabbed a flyer from the table. If you look closely you can see the apple logo in the middle!

I love London. I enjoyed a whole day out for absolutely free, and got to meet a celebrity in the process. The day was completely unplanned and I loved it (usually I plan my days out).

As the saying goes : “If you are tired of London, then you are tired of life”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 12:19 pm

    Well, I’m sort of curious to know whether Nigella looked “old” or just “older.” She looks so pretty on the tv, but I’m convinced that most of the good looking people on tv are that way because of lighting and makeup, not necessarily good genes.

  2. May 5, 2010 10:26 pm

    Nigella has an iPhone application?! What on earth could that be? 😄

    Ah, London. I can’t imagine how you could not live here. A friend once sent me a quote about New York, which obviously really is about London:

    “The true New Yorker knows that people who live anywhere else must be, in some sense, kidding.”

  3. May 6, 2010 9:17 pm

    So tell us…did Nigella look the same as she does on T.V.
    Man i miss London Town:/

  4. May 7, 2010 8:55 pm

    I’ve never heard that about London – the “If you are tired of London, then you are tired of life.” I really like that and I think it fits completely! I used every moment of every day while I was in London this January to see as much of its as I could, and there was much much much much muuuuuuuuuch more! I would love to live in London! Who knows? Maybe one day. Anyway, I too loved the Natural History museum. Though I am a literature major, I have recently been rediscovering a love for the hard sciences and how they contribute to our understanding of the world. I also admire you for writing this article because it seems like most people can only ever complain about where they live; they never take the time to appreciate the goods things that are right in front of their faces. Yay happiness!!

Leave a Reply

