Skip to content

The Best Day

April 18, 2010

I was recently given the question, by a writer friend who asks good questions like this to inspire writerliness, of what my perfect day would be. I’ve been asked this before, but have never before enjoyed answering it. It always induced guilt and confusion, utterly. Such as… would my kids be involved in my perfect day? If I say yes, then how do I get a moment to think/sew/eat chocolate without it being taken from me? And if no, how could it be perfect because I adore my kids and want to be with them? Other mothers I know answer the question with lots of not-being-with-kids and spending the day at the spa. I could never relate to that at all. What the heck IS a spa anyway? Isn’t it just a great big bathroom? Yuck.

But THIS time… I have an answer. My perfect day would be 24 hours of enjoying EVERYTHING. Everything! Even the dishes and the kids fighting (because that’s really just a direct message to me, right?), every kid-invented game that I normally struggle to immerse myself in, every little and big thing. I would enjoy all of it and not want more or less or different. It would be a day of contentment. Passionate contentment.

Okay, so after all that I can’t help adding things that I also would love—but I wouldn’t need these to make the day perfect because I’m already enjoying all of it, see? But here goes: There would be me and my family at a lake, warm sun, birds, a big dog, a campfire (my favorite smell), good food, gentle breezes, clothes that fit me right, chocolate without a single headache chasing it, and total fabulous beautiful gorgeous widespread RELAXATION.

I feel so good just thinking about it!

What’s your perfect day?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 4:39 pm

    ‘What the heck IS a spa anyway? Isn’t it just a great big bathroom?’
    = <3!

    (I have to think about my answer, which atm is leaning to 'the day after successfully meeting a deadline'.)

  2. Kaimalino permalink
    April 18, 2010 9:38 pm

    Thanks for the reassurance I’m not the only one who would both love to play with her children AND have a complete, coherent thought in the same day!
    My perfect day would be a day when I don’t have to make any choices–not because they are all already made for me, but because time is not running out and there is enough time to both lounge around with a book and a plate of cookies AND picnic with the fam AND go for a long run AND have a date with my husband AND do some messy art project with the boys, all without having to stress out between each event that we are running low on energy/time/calories.
    When I stop to think carefully, though I suppose that’s what makes luxuries so luxurious: you don’t get them all the time, and they are always at the cost of something else.
    P.S. A spa is ten times better than a public bath, but the so-called relaxation lighting is too dim to read by, so the library usually offers a cheaper, better unwind anyway. 😉

  3. Maryam permalink
    April 18, 2010 11:25 pm

    kaimalino, that sounds perfect, too. truly.

  4. April 20, 2010 10:34 pm

    I’ve been thinking about this since I read it (lovely post, btw – all of yours are like little bites of manna), and I’ve patched me together a day. Kind of.

    I think the best day has to be a composite of some of the best moments: those moments where you feel like there’s nothing left in the world to want, right now, at this moment. And that day would have to include an early-morning walk across Waterloo Bridge, on a cool sunny day in October.

    Obviously the rest of the day involves a neverending book, or a maybe a neverending conversation….or or OR a neverending conversation ABOUT BOOKS! Over sandwiches with crisps in and orange juice with bits in.

    The other thing I would like is not to be tired and to have had enough sleep! I’m not sure you can fully appreciate most things if you’re running on low batteries. The bad student lifestyle is not good at sleeping enough at the right time. XD

    I love both your and Kai’s days – I wouldn’t have thought about qualities in myself being ways to make a perfect day. Which shows how dumb I am (or how desperate I am to have a day where I can read a book without, please God, feeling guilty – or being on a bus, I’m tired of reading on buses), since that is what the whole philosophy of rida’ is about (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rida).

  5. April 23, 2010 7:10 pm

    saya, i forgot to respond to this! it sounds LOVELY!

Trackbacks

  1. Heaven Right Here… « Ink Stains

Leave a Reply

