Skip to content

Playlist for “Taken by Storm”

April 18, 2010

OK, here’s the aforementioned playlist for Michael and Leesie, the main characters in the book “Taken By Storm,” NTBTS. It wouldn’t be bad to run to, actually.

First, Michael’s list:

‘Sexual Healing’ (Max-a-million)  (the reggae version, of course, as a nod to his Caribbean diving days)

‘Halo’ (Beyonce)

Good Girls Go Bad (Cobra Starship)

Break Even (The Script)

And now, Leesie’s list:

I Do Not Hook Up (Kelly Clarkson)

She Thinks My Tractor\’s Sexy (Kenny Chesney) (Because there are no songs about pig barns, and I am pretty flexible when it comes to things as silly as a playlist for a fictitious character.)

Knock You Down (Keri Hilson)

Ain’t It Funny (Jennifer Lopez)

Should’ve Said No (Taylor Swift)

I Will Always Love You (Whitney Houston)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Maryam permalink
    April 21, 2010 12:48 am

    this is such a great idea. i don’t think in music or in songs, so i totally admire your ability to give these characters a list like this!

  2. April 21, 2010 12:52 am

    The song titles are hilarious with reference to the actual book! I avoid listening to music, so I’m not actually going to check out the songs – I just found it really really amusing, especially the tractor song! I laughed my head off about that. Leesie is such a tractor girl.

    So is DJ Schwenk, actually…maybe you should do a DJ and Brian playlist XD Or DJ and Beaner? But but but don’t tell me anything about what happens in Front and Centre, because I haven’t read it yet because I’m waiting for the paperback!

    • Kaimalino permalink
      April 21, 2010 4:19 pm

      You avoid music? Because so much popular music is racy, or for other reasons? The links I posted are to YouTube but I dug around to find links that were mostly just to the song with the album cover, not clips of the videos–partly because videos are so often not to my standards and partly because they would distract from the connection to “Taken by Storm.”
      These are all cheesy Top 40 variety songs, but I picked them for bits of lyrics that seemed applicable. Google the lyrics if you feel like wasting time and want maximum appreciation for the songs chosen. Should have added “You’re My Favorite Mistake” to Leesie’s list.
      I think Catherine Murdock actually has a playlist for her characters. . . . I distinctly remember reading she can’t hear a certain party anthem without thinking of Beaner.
      Ah, D.J. Schwenk. I’d love to take her to lunch, or go for a run, if I could keep up. She’s nearly on par with Hermione to me. I’d be Hermione if I were smarter; I’d be D.J. if I were all-around cooler.
      Saya, how have you not read “Front and Center”? I won’t say it’s the best, but it’s necessary! Is it not at the library?

      • April 22, 2010 11:22 pm

        The music question I will answer elsewhere, because it is complicated : )

        DJ is too sporty and cool for me! The fictional person I think I’d most like to be friends with would have to be Ella, of Ella Enchanted. Or Princess Ben, actually! Ben would be awesome – we already HAVE a mutual friend. Food.

        Catherine Murdock’s books aren’t in print or circulation here – that’s why I’ve had to buy before reading with these. And Maryam sent me the second DJ book, which is how we became BEST BUDDIES and that is also how this blog is just a big book-swapping endeavour >_> Thus, when F&C = paperback, I’ll think about buying it, and then wait until it is as CHEAP AS POSSIBLE. Yeah, I remember she mentioned a ‘Beaner’s Playlist’. I’m not sure if authors and their playlists are a good thing or a bad thing – it seems to have become something of a fad. Like book trailers. And THEY are pretty hit-and-miss. Except for Maggie’s, which is just pretty. And that she made BY HERSELF. (Did I mention I am a Maggie fangirl?)

        Hermione started to annoy me after book 4. Actually, they ALL did. Harry annoyed me the most, until Ron got more annoying…ah, the good old days of waiting for the next Harry Potter XD

  3. April 23, 2010 7:16 pm

    i should not have heard you talk about F&C because i have been pretending, for a long time, that it DOES NOT EXIST. i don’t want to be pulled into DJ’s head again, even though it’s a lovely lovely head, i just get so sucked in. fictional quicksand and me, never to be found again until the book is done and i don’t have that large a chuck of time to read it at once. can you tell i’m UPSET? LOL i have been resisting which every fiber of my being buying ella enchanted at the library for half a buck. i pick it up, carry it around, put it back. pick it up. aaaaaand put it back. i wish someone would buy it and put me outta my misery! i’m such a spaz. sigh.

  4. April 23, 2010 7:18 pm

    oh, i don’t buy ella just because i can borrow it from the library. borrow! for free! i don’t want to own a gazillion books (OH BUT I REALLY DO!!!) anymore, and gave away so many. i don’t want to just slowly aquire a collection again (I DO!!!), or have books around that i don’t necessarily hope for my kids to read until they’re of a right age. ella’s great, but it’s still a romance. i want it to live at the library. (NOT REALLY!)

  5. Maryam permalink
    April 24, 2010 1:19 am

    i love you too! (shhh, i’m reading jasmyn by night…)

  6. Maryam permalink
    April 24, 2010 1:20 am

    hey where’s my barn swallow? am i still not signed in? sheesh.

  7. April 24, 2010 1:22 am

    so… ahem…

    i popped back to point out that, of course, i have many books i don’t want my kids to read for many years. i am trying to LIMIT that amount and have, from hundreds, to a few dozen. i can’t help owning the little house books and the secret life of bees and animal dreams and princess ben… i guess with books like with all things i have restraint where i can and don’t where i… just don’t!

    • Kaimalino permalink
      April 24, 2010 5:15 am

      The pain of trying to be less attached to things while still being in love with the things that have words printed in them! I know it well! Perhaps there is some sort of 12-step recovery program for us? (And maybe the meetings are held in a bookshop? Oh, wait. . . .)
      It is hard for me to remember I can love a book without owning it, and that I can always own the story or information in my head, even if the book does not take up space on my shelf. If only you could see how many books are piled on my desk and hear the discussion I had only yesterday with a friend talking about how I am in the market for (yet another) cheap bookshelf for children’s books.
      But I am slowly purging the books I know will not be heirlooms. I am donating children’s books more freely and buying fewer unless they have been thoroughly auditioned through a long library-borrowing-period.
      Only yesterday I was thinking that it would be downright *practical* to allocate some of the Book Buying Budget to a new fund called the Sending Books to Long-Distance Friends Fund. You’d be cheerful recipients, yes?
      I read an essay once, in a book called “Ex Libris,” about a book-loving couple who got married and then were in a constant tiff over whose copy of what book to keep. Both the husband and the wife had copies of several classics, and they were so sentimental they couldn’t part with them, even though logically it made no sense to hang onto duplicate copies of the exact same texts in their small apartment. The essay made the point that sometimes it is the *book itself* as much as the well-loved text, that makes readers sentimental. I have my copy of “James and the Giant Peach” from my childhood on my (best, new, lovely) bookshelf but I read the children a new-fangled copy of “James” I got at as part of a set at the bookshop. Mine is too tattered to be functional. But I cannot say goodbye to it!

      • Kaimalino permalink
        April 24, 2010 5:19 am

        P.S. Please read F&C so we can chat about it. Please?

  8. April 26, 2010 12:43 am

    (I’m kind of more awake now)

    Maryam, I HAD to buy Ella – I read it so many times, I needed to own it. Because otherwise I’d have to read a copy made grubby by many many other hands, and at that point, I was developing a serious aversion to that.

    (I used to work in my library, I saw books come in with the most awful injuries. But injuries are treatable and healable. The worst was the books that had been physically and mentally abused and I totally don’t doubt some of them had been abused in unspeakable ways. Those books would never be the same again. It was awful and heartbreaking work, but someone had to do it.)

    Being a child of libraries, my serious intent when I began to buy books (i.e. when I finally started to have a little money when I got my first job – at the library – at 16), apart from buying those ones I’d been wanting to buy for years and years and never tired of reading, was to begin a collection for my not-yet-existent kids. I haven’t caught up with the whole list yet either! The other day, I was counting which Lemony Snickets I’m still missing. And I realised that although I loved Alcott to pieces and reread them a million times, I never actually bought them. And the covers I want have gone long out of print, so I end up trying to hunt down secondhand copies because I must have that edition, no matter how much brain says to mind, you know it is the same book, yes? Mind says, NO MUST HAVE SAME COVER, POUT. So you can imagine I, too, am one of those people attached to the book itself.

    I loathe buying books without reading them first, because I hate to have PAID to own a book I don’t like, or don’t like enough to re-read constantly. So my first principle with buying a book is ‘will I read this again? And again? And again?’ And for me to want to read a book again, it will have to have met the criteria of it being suitably non-haram, and that I would be able to pass on to aforementioned non-existent kids. So my whole rule-system for book-buying is nothing like either of yours! And there’s that whole other dimension of how much my parents hate me to bring YET MORE books into the house, so every book has to justify itself.

    I have made a few mistakes about books, and they kind of torture me, because I can’t bring myself to chuck out something I paid money for, but I also feel burdened by owning them. Currently, I ignore them. It’s only a handful XD

    You can love a book without owning it?! How? I feel like Michael, now XD For me, to love a book is to own it.

    (I’d be a cheerful recipient! I’m a third of the way through John Green, and I have a lot of thoughts – the primary one is to give John Green a really dirty look and ask him where in heck did he get this stuff from? Who is he, like, Sheikh Yahya Al-Akhdar*, the Muslim-expert?)

    * That is Arabic for ‘John the Green’

    • Kaimalino permalink
      April 26, 2010 4:15 am

      Don’t misunderstand my obsession. I am as Michael (ha! the guy is good for something! A perfect metaphor!) as you are with book-loving. I feel like it’s a weird betrayal of some sort to love a book and not own it. . . . I only mean that I am trying (not very hard most days) to LEARN that I can love it in my heart without having it on my shelf.
      I purchase more paperback one-time-reads now than ever before, and justify them by saying I will pass them along to my nieces (and now, to you) if they are at all appealing but not to be kept for my boys.
      Have you read the book “Ex Libris”? There was another essay in there about the difference between “courtly” and “corporeal” lovers of books. It was hysterical. A courtly book lover would never read in the bath tub and would always use a proper book mark, while a corporeal book lover would think nothing of leaving a book open upside down or dog-earing a page corner to mark her spot. I am trying to teach my sons the courtly ways, although I have a corporeal streak in me, which is why there are several books sliding around under the seats in my car, getting crumbs and little boy grit on them. They are waiting for unexpected wait time, which is always like winning a door prize to me. Forced to wait! Forced to sit and read! Alas, I am trapped (and grinning)!
      But they aren’t library books. I am completely courtly with them.
      And your parents couldn’t be upset that you were getting MAIL, right? From your little friend in Utah? You’d be impolite not to. 😉
      I wondered about that John Green book. . . . that was an impulse one-time-read book. You are helping to justify my book-buying habits.

  9. April 26, 2010 10:38 am

    Oh my goodness! I am a courtly lover*! I have rules when I lend people my books! 1) thou shalt not break the spine, and 2) thou shalt not bend or fold the pages in any way. I finish off the rule-rattling with, ‘basically, imagine it’s a very delicate baby.’ It always shocks people how unread my books look (unless some awful person abused them), even though I assure them I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read it.

    I’m a little less courtly with secondhand books since they’ve already seen wear, and even less so – about four-fifths corporeal – with library books (it totally makes me laugh that you are the opposite – you clearly have superior morals). Library books are tough – they have plastic jackets and nobody cares if the spine cracks a little. And if you’re not the first person to read it, chances are it’s already been abused quite a bit. I used to be a terminal page-folder when I was younger, but then I learned to have morals/respect and also bookmarks. I am so Michael. ^^

    I haven’t read Ex Libris, but it sounds really fun. I’m on a short self-imposed ban for getting more library books (not only because there is no space left on my card XD), so I’m going to pretend I don’t know about it…

    They can’t complain about books people give me : D It’s beautiful : D Also, I am a most adept bootlegger when it comes to books.

    *That sounded a bit dodgy. Books, people.

Trackbacks

  1. One more “Taken by Storm” review «

Leave a Reply

