Skip to content

Barakah

April 14, 2010

We had our Fast-a-Thon today. Fast-a-Thon is an event done by Muslim Student Associations at university campuses to raise awareness about Islam and about poverty, and to raise funds and food to benefit the poor and homeless in our communities. Usually it takes place during Ramadan, but we had ours during Islam Awareness Month this year.

I’ve been really busy lately and was exhausted today. I still had homework to do and I was really considering not going. But then I saw our MSA president this morning and was just talking to him about something completely unrelated and felt this renewed need to go, so I did. Alhamdulillah…it was such an awesome event. It’s only my second Fast-a-Thon (my first was at my undergraduate university in Florida, during Ramadan the year before last). There was just so much blessing there…Alhamdulillah. Praying maghrib and breaking the fast together is such a beautiful experience. I have been so stressed and worried about things lately that I’m really happy we moved this to April, because it is a huge bright spot in a few very difficult weeks. And dinner is never as good as when it is iftar, really. Subhan’Allah. I hope everyone who was able to make it to Fast-a-Thon tonight carries this blessing with them, insha’Allah.

Now I really cannot wait for Ramadan.

I almost forgot! A joke that was told in between when the speaker finished speaking and those awkward moments before it was time for maghrib…

“Is a solid gold ship the most valuable ship in the world? No. What about a solid pearl and diamond ship? No. The most valuable ship in the world is friendship.”

You are all permitted to go forth and groan at the corniness but feel very warm and fuzzy inside.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 12:57 am

    A lot of “corny” things are true, as is this joke. I have to tell myself this when I feel my eyes rolling back in my head.

  2. Maryam permalink
    April 16, 2010 12:41 am

    i love moments when i realize i did something so important, after coming very close to not doing it.

Leave a Reply

