Skip to content

Giving is better than receiving

April 12, 2010

On Saturday night, I attended a very fancy dinner hosted by the Muslim Doctors Association in the Hilton Kensington. Although I was working that day, I managed to swap shifts just to attend. I also managed to get a free ticket to help my good friend in the events team.

Although I was working til 2 am, I still managed to look presentable (probably after the 2 cups of strong coffee) and drive all the way to the hotel (in high heeled shoes no less – don’t worry Saya, I needed them so that I wouldn’t trip over my very long abaya)

Everyone there was a doctor, and as the saying goes, too many doctors end up speaking medic talk and bragging about their statuses, jobs, cars and GP practices.

It was mostly Asian (Indo/Pak) attendence, and I was not one of those, and hence do not feature on their social level. But, I managed to enjoy the company of 3 beautiful sisters (beautiful both inside and out) and we had a fab dinner.

We had a few guest speakers: Lord Nazir Ahmed of Rotherham, George Galloway, Professor Azeem Majeed and sponsors of the event: British Heart Foundation and some locum agencies.

Professor Azeem Majeed, a professor of Primary Care Medicine, gave some startling facts on diabetes in the South Asian migrant community in UK, while we were all tucking into dessert. Apparently, the South Asians in UK are at a higher risk compared to their relatives back home due to poor diet and lack of exercise.

The saddest note of the event was when Rizwan Hussain, an Islam Channel presenter, came to talk about his charity HOPE (Homes for the Orphans, Poor and Elderly in Bangladesh) and about homelessness and poor living conditions there. He was trying to build 50 homes by Ramadaan and had already completed 18 in 1 month! True, the houses cost £1000 each, and was hoping to get the money for all the houses in this event. It was sad to see doctors, especially those who have reached the pinnacle of their career, not even pledging £100. I felt very saddened by this fact, and hope that I will never be like this. I have been instilled to give charity regularly, even if it is £1 a month.

I left for home that night feeling a bit cynical of the world of medics. We aim to save lives in the day but not care about humanity in our free time, in order to dissociate ourselves from our day jobs.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 3:30 pm

    George Galloway cracks me up! ‘I just wish that Channel 4 Dispatches had an undercover camera in here.’

    Also, hallo, at 00:56, is that our friend? How cool is that!

    It’s surprising – not just sad – that in a (Hilton!) roomful of doctors – Muslim doctors! – it went the way it did. They can’t even argue (like me XD), that they have no money! I bet any other group NOT comprising Muslims would’ve filled the required amount and some. Muslims are such numpties sometimes.

  2. April 12, 2010 3:56 pm

    George Galloway really does work for the Palestinian and Muslim cause. He is about to launch his 4th Viva Palestina convoy, but this time from Turkey using ships, as Egypt have closed the Rafa border.

    Yes, it is our dear friend. I kept hiding from the photographer, who kept pestering us for group photos.

    Muslim fundraisers are normally successful, but this one stank big time.

Leave a Reply

