Skip to content

Cherry Blossom Season!

April 5, 2010


On a lighter note (Saya, didn’t you know that I don’t want to think about space debris?!), the cherry blossoms are in full bloom! Best time of year ever! And yes, I am wearing a burka while typing this. When I was a kid, we’d give our birds (parakeets and parrots) a branch of wet leaves and they’d bathe in it—flapping and wiggling and splashing around. It was great fun to watch. Today my kids discovered, much like parakeets, the fun of a vase full of cherry blossom branches that, amazingly, fall to pieces when shaken! Their toy animals shook nearly every petal off. These were collecting in bowls to be beds for later. I didn’t join the fun since I’m sick as a dog (isn’t that what birthdays are for?), but was instead filled with admiration seeing my children squatting on the dining room table for the better part of half an hour, filled with focus and attention and enjoyment (the likes of which we adults rarely experience, let alone the way kids experiences it so many, many times a day). I love kids, cherry blossom trees, and birds. So much.

***********************************************************************

I have yet to understand how to link a photo to its site {but I can link a link to a photo!}, so here I am doing it old school:
The first: http://cakeonthebrain.blogspot.com/2009/04/cherry-blossom-cupcakes.html
And second: http://www.fromsingletomarried.com/2009/04/07/washington-dc-can-you-say-cherry-blossoms/

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 6:59 pm

    crap, why didn’t those links work?

    because i’m amish inside.

    • April 5, 2010 11:42 pm

      Fixed!

      Also, Amish comment cracked me up 😄 😄

  2. April 5, 2010 9:19 pm

    Oh no, we’ve italicized the page, too! I will fix it in a few hours insha’Allah (off to swim while there’s still an hour or two of sunlight left). I LOVE this post. Was just admiring the cherry blossoms falling all over the place today 🙂 It’s one of the things I love about living in Virginia (as opposed to Florida).

  3. April 5, 2010 11:35 pm

    Wait, the page is in Italics? That’s kind of funny!

    I loveeee this post! I was outside today and I saw this lovely brave cherry tree that had buds ready to burst, but only one twig of the whole sprawling tree had a fistful of blossom! There was something very…soul-filling about that single fistful.

    I keep remembering, waiting for Spring, how Anne always says, ‘I’m always a little mad in the Spring’ – I can understand it this year. It’s a relief to see the sun, and it’s a relief that the branches aren’t bare anymore – I don’t know if it is just that I haven’t been paying attention, but it feels like it’s being a late blossoming this year.

    I’m glad Winter’s over. I’m ready for some flowers and sun and leaves.

  4. April 5, 2010 11:57 pm

    Also also, I only believe in it when it’s called sakura!

  5. April 6, 2010 12:17 am

    Thanks Saya! Got sidetracked doing homework and forgot to fix it, because I am teh suck like that. 😀

    The pictures they are so pretttttttty.

  6. April 6, 2010 12:59 am

    PS Maryam don’t be sick! Get better!

    btw, what do you think the Big Bad Wolf would have said, if he had been wearing a ‘burka’, when Red Riding Hood said, ‘my, what a big burka you’ve got!’?

  7. April 6, 2010 6:23 am

    ROFL!

    noor, thanks for intending to fix it, and saya, thanks for fixing it! it’s not fixed on my computer, though. still just… words that don’t linka-linka.

    new word: sakura = i’m hooked

    yay virginia! florida’s got more summer, but you’ve got flowering cherry blossoms going for ya. (okay, or am i wrong? is virginia south enough that it’s more like florida than i think? ah, to love maps and be geographically challenged…)

    saya, i love that you loved that one fistful! i was thinking that i wouldn’t like to go to DC to see hordes of trees. we saw one nearby at a duck pond and that one beautiful flowering tree was just right, more than enough. it’s really magical to stand underneath a canopy of petals. the fact that they only last a week or maybe two adds to their loveliness.

    i don’t get what was in italics. i’m just that gooooood.

  8. April 6, 2010 11:47 am

    oh, somebody answer the big bad wolf question (oh saya? you can). it’s too good and i’m too sick.

    • April 8, 2010 11:01 pm

      Ohhh I don’t know the answer, that’s why I asked! I was hoping someone else would come up with something really witty and amusing, like, ‘all the better to OPPRESS YOU WITH my dear!’

      Sakura is the BEST WORD EVER but totally best enjoyed with KISSES*! 😄

      And sakura-storms are like blizzards of petals. So awesome on balmy breezy sunny days.

      * Excuse me for possibly coming over a bit haram there but it is with GOOD REASON:

      AND AND this is the hilarious and awesome original:

      (The song is called ‘Sakura Kiss’)

      • April 9, 2010 1:01 am

        the songs have left me speechless.
        but smiling!

        oh, all the better to oppress you with is perrrrrfect!

  9. April 8, 2010 7:03 am

    Cherry blossoms are so pretty! Like confetti on the ground. Reminds me of ‘Memoirs of a Geisha’ (without the haram bits)

    • April 8, 2010 7:27 pm

      hahahahahaha!

      (I haven’t read that, so no idea re: haram bits – it just made me laugh >_>)

  10. May 3, 2010 3:39 pm

    This is such a cute blog, loved your post Maryam ah the joys of being a child, reminds
    me of the time I went to my very first cherry blossom fesitval in DC…lol @ burka you guys are too funny!

  11. May 3, 2010 5:15 pm

    mina, thanks! i like this blog, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

