Skip to content

Contest Winners & What Alex Bell Learned

March 30, 2010

So our Angela Morrison contest is now over, and we’d like to say a BIG thank you to Angela for giving us this great opportunity to share her books with you. An equally big thank you, too, to everyone who entered!  Reading your entries was great: heartwarming and hopeful.

In case you missed it, the question we asked was ‘if you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be and why?

Although this isn’t meant to be a philosophical meander, I was genuinely interested by your answers, and what I understood is that it’s important to look forward for change – not look back with regret at things that weren’t and could have been. It’s taking control of who you are – here and now – a moment at a time.

‘Right now I wouldn’t change a thing. I’m happy just being me.’

Gaby

And so: contest! The drawing was done by my sister, via the good old-fashioned method of paper and hats (she insisted on the hat), and I’m delighted to tell you that the winners of a signed copy of TAKEN BY STORM each are KINSEY and SHARLI, and our two runners-up, each winning an envelope full of bookmarks are SARAH and LIZ. To receive your prize, please send your postal addresses to me (you should have received an email) within the next seven days.

~

This picture is here for the sole reason that I am fangirling Alex's top XDAnd now for something completely slightly different. As promised, Alex Bell, author of the awesome Jasmyn, shares with us a few things she learned from her mother (not all of them are haram!).

The picture on the left is there purely for the reason that I want that top. (Where is it from, Alex?)

So anyway – Alex Bell below!

Things I’ve learnt from my mother

  • To appreciate a good glass of wine.
  • To tell the difference between an expensive glass of white, and some cheap plonk.
  • To need a decent wine glass – the tall-stemmed, big-goblet sort, rather than some ratty little picnic thing (although I think I might have taught her this).

Now for some other stuff that isn’t to do with alcohol(!):

  • To match accessories to any outfit.
  • To fix a high-heeled shoe that has been chewed by a Great Dane puppy.
  • To shop like Speedy Gonzales rather than Slowpoke Rodriguez.
  • To eat an ice cream without dripping it everywhere.
  • To decorate a cupcake.
  • To love animals.
  • To enjoy being just a little bit eccentric.
  • To be a good traveller, and enjoy seeing new places, and experiencing different cultures – and to not freak out when problems occur abroad.
  • To read.
  • To drive.
  • To adore a good soak in the hot tub, and a massage at the spa.
  • To get out of P.E. lessons back when I was at school.
  • To love thrill rides of any kind (although this was something she had to learn from my father before she could pass it on.)

And here are a couple of things my mother can do but which I have not quite learnt yet, although I am still trying:

  • To roll my R’s.
  • To curl my tongue up at both sides.
  • To make fancy things out of a serviette.
  • To be a morning person.
  • To be able to spot a scam when I’m abroad (or, indeed, at home).
  • To only worry about important things, rather than little things.
  • To be constantly and unfailingly cheerful even when life is not going exactly to plan.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 11:37 pm

    what a brilliant list!

    A LIST. perhaps THAT will cure me of my finger-lock about this mother post. there is just too much i learned to ever write it out. but… a good plump clearly numbered fine and dandy list. no paragraphing necessary.

    • March 30, 2010 11:44 pm

      *rofl*

      As long as it doesn’t involve alcohol, I’m sure anything goes!

      Alcohol – for the information of our dear non-Muslim friends and readers – of course, is haram for Muslims. So Maryam having alcohol would be bad. Also I suspect she would become very tipsy VERY QUICKLY, having no tolerance.

      • March 31, 2010 2:49 pm

        saya, whaaaaat? did i say i’d have alcohol? i just want to make a list! LOL

  2. March 31, 2010 4:08 am

    Thank you so much to both Alex Bell and Angela Morrison!

    Alex, I loved your list. Pure win 🙂

    Congratumalations to our awesome contest winners, and thank you to everyone who responded to the contest!

  3. March 31, 2010 4:51 pm

    Thanks! i didnt receive the mail .. so. what mail i have to send the information??? please?

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Contest Winners & What Alex Bell Learned « -- Topsy.com
  2. Thoughts, plans, links, and other things « بِسْمِ اللّهِ الرَّحْمـَنِ الرَّحِيم
  3. Jasmyn, Alex Bell, Swans and CASTLES «

Leave a Reply

