Skip to content

A Very Short Story of a Medium-Length Walk

February 23, 2010

I was walking to the library on Friday, quite fast (for me, haha), when an oldish man who was just coming out of a shop spoke to me. I didn’t realise he was speaking to me at first as I was lost in my own thoughts, and had nearly walked past him when what he said registered. I didn’t stop – I didn’t want to walk with him, and I didn’t want him to think I would, or that I wanted to – but he kept in step with me while the following occurred. I swear I did not make this up, I couldn’t be so ingenious:

Man: No prayers today?

Me: *blink* (why is this man talking to me? Better grin and look good. And keep walking.)

Man: But women don’t go to prayers, do they?

Me: *collects self* No, they do – it’s just not time yet! (It was 11.30am)

Man: They do? I’ve never seen them go, men and women together.

Me:  *blink* Have you ever been?

Man: Well no-

Me: Then how would you know?

After which I did the Speedy Gonzales and zoomed away. Yay, escape!

Oh, I almost forgot: the moral of the story – because all such stories should have morals – is DON’T TALK SILLINESS ABOUT THINGS YOU DON’T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. James permalink
    February 23, 2010 11:31 pm

    I like the story & I definitely like the moral, so true!

  2. Fjafjan permalink
    February 23, 2010 11:33 pm

    I think the moral is always ask if you’re not sure, you might learn something.

  3. February 23, 2010 11:34 pm

    I think the other moral is: don’t stop walking when strangers talk to you 😄

  4. Richard permalink
    February 24, 2010 1:54 am

    If I didn’t talk silliness about things I know nothing about, I would never say anything.

  5. February 25, 2010 11:30 am

    Perhaps THAT is the moral: don’t speak. Ever. 😄

  6. Rivenheart permalink
    February 26, 2010 9:22 pm

    What was it that they said in the Phantom Tollbooth? With the kind of crazy old lady in the dungeon? She got thrown in jail for telling people “Silence is Golden” so that she could keep all of the beautiful words to herself?

    Sorry, random literary reference. It’s a great book though, I would recommend it.

  7. Fjafjan permalink
    February 27, 2010 3:13 am

    Also the moral should be ‘try don’t get upset if people ask you silly things, try to answer as best you can’.

Trackbacks

  1. Jasmyn, Alex Bell, Swans and CASTLES «

Leave a Reply

