Skip to content

Valentines Day, sans chocolate (gasp, faint)

February 14, 2010

Okay, so I know many of you love and adore and want to marry chocolate, just as I do, except I’m already married so that wouldn’t really work. Um…

Nevertheless, I am intending a Valentines Day without chocolate, since sugar affects us all strongly and there are unfortunate blood sugar issues and my kids don’t really neeeeeeed caffeinated candy.

I don’t really give a hoot about this day, other than thinking it’s just another so-called holiday to make people notice their loneliness and feel inadequate in a society that’s pushing purchased Hallmark sentimentality and unhealthy chocolate candies full of junk (isn’t pure chocolate and sugar delicious enough?!). BUT, I do love art and any excuse to combine saying I Love and Adore You with paper and paint. Plus, my kids notice holidays like this all around them so we might as well make it homemade to avoid the consumeristic trap.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 2:54 pm

    hm… is it valentines day or valentine’s day? I could have checked on the apostrophe.
    i wonder if this silly day is in england as well?

  2. February 14, 2010 3:55 pm

    lol, ‘Valentine’s’ as in St. Valentine! Thus, it is in fact a Saint’s Day thingy. I’m pretty sure they do Val Day even in Timbuktu – there is, after all, money to be made.

    Those cards are adorable. Seriously. I could eat them. Every year, as a joke, my sister draws a pencil-heart on a little scrap of rubbishy paper and gives one to me and my other sister, scribbled over with words of insincere love, which I then can’t throw away because I have this complex of not throwing things like that away (and then, ten or so years later, I can rediscover them and it is hilarious and awesome). I will see if I can find any from years past and take photos!

    I know many of you love and adore and want to marry chocolate

    My relationship with chocolate is more platonic than romantic! Spices, on the other hand…I would marry garlic bread, if it didn’t have such a short shelf-life. Also if it were a male human entity. Also if marriage to food wasn’t considered a crime against the psyche. Wait…is it? If you marry something you then eat…making yourself a widow…you would be like a spider? A black widow, perhaps. Well, there is at least a natural precedent for it, and we know how important they are XD

    I always liked the idea of random-day celebration – like the business of unbirthdays in Alice in Wonderland. I had a friend who used to celebrate her unbirthdays all the time, by bringing in biscuits and cakes to share with us all the time. Nom nom.

  3. February 15, 2010 2:09 am

    Beautiful cards masha’Allah!

    I actually have hardly had any chocolate at all today either. I would have bought some Dove truffles at the grocery store (I used to buy them every year on VDay up until they disappeared off the shelves a few years back, but I found them here!) except they were out of the regular flavor 😦 So the only sugar I’ve had was choc chip waffles this morning.

    My favorite thing about VDay is doing stuff with/for my sis. We are usually each others’ valentines and we send each other cards (although this year I sent a card to Rick and one to a couple of other friends as well). I think she sent me a package with candy, but it hasn’t gotten here yet. But I’m usually not that much bigger on VDay candy than I am the rest of the year…I just love chocolate in general 😀 Sometimes during holidays like Easter and VDay I will stock up on the yummies that aren’t sold the rest of the year here (like Cadbury eggs at Easter).

    And I’m with you on the unbirthdays, Saya. I think every day should be celebrated, darn it.

    • February 15, 2010 12:20 pm

      saya and noor, those are loveday traditions worth keeping… scrappy sappy valentines and sisterly adoration!

  4. chuuurls permalink
    February 19, 2010 6:16 pm

    These are some lovely cards! What a sweet gesture. Valentine’s day is kind of a silly holiday, but I think any holiday that you can turn into an art project is definitely okay.

    There was chocolate in my Valentine’s day, but only in a roundabout way. I made oatmeal raisin chocolate chip cookies, after the normal chocolate chip ones I made during the snowliday were unmercifully scarfed by everyone who ever entered the house (including the people who live in it).

    I sort of agree with Saya in that I think I would rather marry garlic than chocolate, because first of all it is delicious and also that horrible Edward Cullen or any other sort of troubled vampire man would STAY AWAY FROM MAY.

  5. February 19, 2010 7:42 pm

    I love that you did the homemade thing instead of spending so much on V-day products like all the stores want us to. I was going to buy my Lovely a card, but even at Walmart they were a minimum of $3 each! And I just thought, well I can write him a silly love sonnet for free and he’ll laugh at it and love it so much more because I wrote it, not some random person…which is really quite creepy the more you think about it…someone off in the world professing their love and adoration for you…the random reader…and about 3 million other people in the world who buy the some card…quite the polygamist really…

    I don’t like cards that say too much. It’s seems to contrived. And it highlights the fact that you, the card giver, can’t really say much of anything for yourself. I hope that this is never true of me – that I am out-spoken, out-poetried, out-voiced – by a card.

  6. April 6, 2010 12:13 pm

    Beautiful cards- I loved that they are from “mama’s heart”- how wonderfully preciously perfect!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

