Skip to content

Nights

February 10, 2010

To start off this blog, I thought I’d add my tuppence worth before falling asleep again.

I’m on nights this week in the ER (A&E) department. I’ve begun to appreciate my nights completely! The body was made to sleep in darkness. My body clock is so confused at present because when I leave work, it suddenly wants to have fun and be awake.. but I have to submit it to at least 6 hrs sleep before next shift.

A&E never stops, but it can slow down. Unfortunately (or fortunately), I am working with other juniors who cannot see peadiatric cases, so I see them all. And it’s quite a range-from gluing wounds together, to seeing 4 day old babies with rashes and then to overanxious parents.

Last night, it was one of the nurses birthday and we celebrated with cake and various snacks. ALthough, I did not have time to munch. Actually, I did not have time to take a break in my 10 hour shift.

But, it was an interesting pool of people who want to come in at 3am.. some came because they didn’t have time ti come at any other time of the day, then they refuse treatment! Totally confused.

Starting to feel sleepy! Zzz…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 5:38 pm

    I’m impressed you were awake long enough to write this!

    I think I would hate to have a life so busy that I could only drop into A&E at 3am…oh wait, that’s your life 😀

    Joking joking, love you really 😀

  2. chuuurls permalink
    February 10, 2010 6:08 pm

    Whoa, life in the night shift sounds hard, you busy person!

  3. February 11, 2010 12:43 am

    as a parent, i can truly say that dealing with overanxious parents sounds *really bad.*
    so glad you’re finding some time to write amidst the busyness.

Leave a Reply

