Skip to content

Blizzard Blunderland

February 10, 2010

There is pretty much no way to break the ice. There’s just too much frozen water around to do away with any of it.

So instead of breaking the ice with a post, I decided to take some pretty pictures of it for you.

It’s been around for at least a week. I think it came around friday last week and it’s wednesday now. Cue impromptu break from work, school, and social life.

Staying at home with my family sure does exacerbate how much we’ve forgotten about how to live around each other. It goes something like “No one can stand anything anybody does and has to complain about it forever and ever and ever.” You would think that being uninterested in any squabbles would exclude me from being bothered, but in fact it does not.

Please excuse my snow grumpings. I secretly enjoy being trapped in the house for a week. I just wish I was trapped in the house with less hotheaded people.  It’s been going on for years, so I guess I don’t mind all that much. Everyone forgets what they got mad about eventually anyway.

The dog is not small. The snow really is that tall. His face completely conveys his feelings on the matter.

It’s still snowing now even. What does one do in all this snow? I’ve just been doing pushups and eating. My art computer is unfortunately broken with no hope of fixing until the snowpocalypse is over. So it’s schoolwork, reading comics, and working out for me.

I am being asked to bake something. I will probably make chocolate chip cookies (biscuits for you internationally inclined people I guess? why do you call it a biscuit it is a cookie) and well I haven’t got anything else better to do so I may as well make little fat flakes for us to have with our coffee.

This grumpy wind-in-my-face-face concludes my introduction. Hope we can all get along and hope my ice showing helped to break our figurative ice.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 7:43 pm

    Oh my gosh! I was just taking snow pics today myself. We had a huge blizzard in late december (~3ft), and two big storms since (2 ft this past weekend and 1.5 ft the weekend before), plus a few 4-6 inchers (including last night). The snow just never goes away. I’m a Floridian at heart…I was SO not made for this! The staying in the house doesn’t bother me quite as much as the fact that classes and work don’t slow down just cause I can’t get out of my house. But I just thought I’d share that I sympathize with your snow grumbling. *big hugs*

  2. chuuurls permalink
    February 10, 2010 7:49 pm

    I don’t recall which state you live in but *snow grumble empathy* *hugz* Florida weather is probably perfect right now. I feel bad for people who don’t like the cold because our bipolar weather is not kind to them. Also sorry to hear that CLASSES AND WORK ARE INSANE AND NOT CANCELLED. Who in the world would try to get to work in this?

  3. February 10, 2010 9:45 pm

    Your post reminded me of the one REAL snow day we had, last February – real because it was the first time EVER that not one of us went to work and DIDN’T EVEN MENTION IT. All of us just lolled around at home being silly and happy and relaxed in a happy-family way. But I agree a week might be stretching the limits of goodwill and familove 😄

    It also reminds me I have photos of a strange walk in the park that I must also show you all. They are strange and inexplicable.

  4. chuuurls permalink
    February 10, 2010 9:50 pm

    I would be thrilled if you showed us the snowtos you took in the park. Yes, familove is extremely stretched after 3ish days.

  5. February 10, 2010 10:06 pm

    I don’t think they actually involve snow. They involve, weirdly enough, some kind of totem? I don’t even know. I was mystified. But my camera is UPstairs and I am DOWNstairs. It is an UNSOLVEABLE PROBLEM.

  6. chuuurls permalink
    February 10, 2010 10:07 pm

    It sounds pretty mysterious. Also this is a camera disaster the likes of which can never be fixed.

  7. February 10, 2010 10:31 pm

    I told a story to make up for my lack of vertical locomotion!

  8. James permalink
    February 11, 2010 1:20 am

    Saya I don’t think we Londoners can really compare what we call a snow day to what they’ve got! I think we got at most, what, 1′ 6″, maybe 2′ absolute max? Probably less, so I’m still amazed at how we grind to a halt the moment there’s a little bit of snow…

    Having said that, a week of being snowed in sounds like bliss to me! a) a week off work (or even working from home) sounds like a lot more fun than normal work & b) I love snow :D. Then again I’d probably get sick of it if there was a whole week literally trapped inside the house…

  9. Rivenheart permalink
    February 11, 2010 8:54 pm

    Well, seeing as I’m from a cold desert and am quite used to bipolar weather… I’d like to say that I sympathize, even though, I’m afraid that I honestly don’t. Currently we have frozen ground showing, it’s constantly freezing, and I constantly slip on the ice. I would definitely take snowmaggedon over this!!!! Of course, then again, there are other winters where the snow has been deep enough that I’ve accidently gotten my horse stuck in a snowdrift… And yes, it was an accident. Thank goodness my horse was very well tempered.

    Ooh!!! One of my professors was explaining about why you people on the East Coast were getting snowmaggedon!! I still don’t really understand it, but I’m still really excited about it!!!

Leave a Reply

